Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I'm so sorry - I don't think this was good as a frosting. I beat the ever-living snot out of the mixture for half an hour and it never came to frosting consistency. Maybe I did something wrong? (My mixer gave me the stink eye when I finally gave up) BUT - if you had to top up a tart of some kind this would be lovely, but it would have made sure that this wouldn't go above the edges of the tart. Anyway, I ended up just adding confectioner's sugar until it got to the consistency I wanted. It did turn out very caramely-tasting though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was delicious but I have to take off a star because I followed the recipe exactly and never really got it much to a whipped consistency, it was pretty thin and glazey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I reviewed the recipe and can't figure out what happened, but I had to add 2 cups of powdered sugar and the frosting was still very runny. I'll try it again but I'll have a back up plan this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
The flavor was delicious. But no matter how much I chilled, the mixture wouldn't thicken up. So what I did was added 2 bricks of cold pieces of cream chz, and the frosting came out perfectly then. Was able to hold up enough to frost a cake, and taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
After reading through the reviews for this frosting, I was a little worried it wouldn't work out. However, I followed the instructions & it came out great! I let it cool on the counter for a few minutes, then put it in the fridge for about sn hour, then stuck it in the freezer for a few minutes for good measure. It was hard to get out of the pan and into my mixer bowl and my mixer protested quite a bit at first, but it lightened up quickly. It seemed a little sticky, so I added a few tablespoons of powdered sugar, and the consistency was great - even better after cooling in the fridge for a little while. I actually wonder if I had let it cool before adding powdered sugar if I would have needed it. I frosted my cake last night & haven't any problem with the frosting sliding. I do think I will make a larger batch next time, since I barely had enough to cover my layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Meadows Place, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This is the best tasting caramel icing I have ever made! I had to make flowers with this icing, so I added quite a bit of powdered sugar and a pinch or so of salt and it still tasted fantastic! Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Tasted great. However after 30 minutes of beating with a stand mixer I still did not get frosting with a fluffy texture. I followed all the tips from reviewers including adding a bit more heavy cream as I whipped (a must or else it would have just been a glaze, not a frosting). I may use this recipe again, but the texture is notthing like stated and there is a lot of instructions missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
What an interesting recipe! The only thing I don't love about it is the slight baking soda taste. I wonder what would happen if I just left it out? I love how light and fluffy it is and the flavor is good after the initial baking soda flavor sort of evaporates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Durfey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Perfect! I don't think I've ever tasted a better frosting. I used a little less brown sugar than required. Other than that, I followed the instructions exactly and used the suggestions given by other members to cool the mixture in the fridge and freezer. This is great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Once I figured out how cold the frosting needed to get, before beating, this makes the perfect frosting for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States