Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by WildFan16
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I did have to make some modifications to this recipe to get it to be really fluffy (like the other reviewers suggest). I saved out a few tbsp's of the whipping cream. I let the "finished" mixture cool in the fridge for about 1.5hrs. I got it back out and added the remainder of the whipping cream as well as added about 3 & 1/3 cups of confectioner sugar (1/3 of a cup at a time). The mixture was still not the consistency I wanted (even after beating it forever), so I put it in the fridge overnight. I got it out the next day and it was very dense. Put it back in the mixer and mixed until it was a fluffy icing consistency. It piped very well and held it's shape perfectly. Not to mention it was so delicious I could just eat spoonfuls of the icing by itself. :) I will definitely be making this one again. A little more work, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildFan16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is such a delicious frosting! It's light, has a great flavor and its sweet. I made it for the first time and my husband loved it. I did not refrigerate the caramel as suggested, but let it cool completely on the counter,covered it and let it sit overnight. When I mixed it the next day, it took just about 1 hour to get it to a stable consistency-like buttercream. I did add a touch of powdered sugar and 3-4 tbsp of room temp butter to help the consistency. The next time I make this I will refrigerate it to see if it lessens the mixing time. Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Good, but like other reviewers, it never thickened so I needed to add a bunch of powdered sugar to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This turned out so amazingly delicious. I followed the advice of a few reviewers and added more cream after the caramel had cooled. I also substituted about 1/4 of the brown sugar with powdered sugar that I also added after the mixture had cooled. It turned out so ridiculously yummy, and I'm definitely adding this one to the repertoire...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Very good! The timing is perfect and the frosting doesn't taste like burnt sugar! Thank goodness! I did add additional whipping cream and powdered sugar when whipping the frosting after it cooled for 1.5 hrs in the refrigerator without stirring. The color is beautiful & it's made a great spreadable (not hard) frosting. Thanks for the recipe! It's great on top of my Caramel Apple Pie. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hi. This is more of a question than a review, but I tried making this and got a glaze-like product rather than a frosting, even after cooling in the fridge for 30 minutes. I was wondering if this might be because I stirred too much while boiling the sugar and cream to keep the sugar from burning. Anyone else having this problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
delicious, but I can't imagine how much powdered sugar I would have to add to make it look like the photo. Mine was a thin frosting and I added three cups of powdered sugar to the recipe. It was tasty, but thin and very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This frosting wouldn't whip up for me, either. Yes, you can force it to become frosting by adding LOTS of powdered sugar, but that makes it so sweet as to be over the top. I agree with the reviewer who said the directions seem to be missing steps/detail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This frosting tastes great but didn't whip up for me. I let this cool completely in the fridge and the consistency was like hot fudge sauce. I think the mixture needs to cool completely before adding the butter because the butter melts instantly in the hot caramel. I will try that next time. For this batch to work I had to add about 1 cup powdered sugar and no matter how much I beat it, it didn't become fluffy. It didn't matter since I was using it on a sheet cake but it wouldn't have worked on a layer cake. It became hard in the fridge overnight but softened quickly on the counter. A great tasting recipe but needs some tweaks on the method to work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I love this frosting. The trick to this frosting is that you must let it completely cool off before using your blender. I usually make the frosting the evening before, let it cool to room temperature and then let it sit in the refrig overnight. I mix it with the blender in the morning just warming it up slightlty, like for a few seconds. Love this and it spreads well over warm pound cake, not hot cake out the oven, warm cake please or it will look like a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States