Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Holly cow, this is the BEST frosting I've ever had in my life. 10 times better than the local cupcake shop's caramel frosting. I only gave it 4 stars though because the instructions seem to be a bit off. As with many of the other reviewers, I put mine in the fridge overnight and then whipped it up in the morning in my KitchenAid mixer. I also had to add some powdered sugar to stabilize it. Not sure how much I added - spoonfuls until it didn't ooze so much. But the powdered sugar didn't really change the taste much, so it was still AMAZING. Entirely worth the time and effort. If the instructions accounted for the powdered sugar and the time it takes to cool, this would be 5 stars. 10 stars if I could give that many!! My new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
LOVED this recipe! I followed the recipe additions below by Theresa and it was PERFECT! My only suggestion is to use a heavy duty mixer. Maybe it was my fridge that cooled the frosting too much but when I went to mix it with my hand held mixer it showed to be too thick for it. I had to mix it up a bit with a wooden spoon and let it warm up a bit before I could attempt to mix it again. Unfortunately, I did not have access to a KitchenAid mixer because that would have been perfect for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Delicious! Came out wonderfully. I followed the tips left by Teresa and had no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love this recipe!! I have made it several times and never had a problem. Make sure frosting is chilled before whipping and add a small amount of powdered sugar if needed. I have used this on banana cake, yellow cake and chocolate. Fluffy enough for piping. Never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is the best frosting recipe I've tried. Needs to be dead cold before whipping so plan ahead. Great with Burnt Sugar Cake II on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this recipe adding the butter in with the brown sugar, baking soda and whipping cream and then bringing it to a boil for 2-3 minutes. It should have a thick, syrup-like consistency. Then add powdered sugar (to taste) and let it simmer for 1 minute . Then let it cool completely and whip with an electric mixer for about 4-5 minutes and you will have a wonderful frosting with a fluffy, creamy consistency that is smply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and tastes great! However, this frosting must be cooled completely in the pan (Probably well over 2 hours or more) I whipped it once, when i thought it was cool enough (about an hour) and it started to come together, on the highest speed on my mixer and was a very dark color. Then I waited another half hour and whipped it again at the highest speed on my mixer (speed 9) then it started to lighten to the color of the picture shown with this recipe and then it was totally awesome! I wouldn't change a thing except I think you may have to mix this recipe with a high speed mixer (the large "stand up kind" with a wire whip like a high speed "Kitchen Aid" mixer. Otherwise, this recipe is the real deal of caramel frostings. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Flavor was great; but the picture does not reflect the true appearance of the frosting without using powdered sugar, also it should be stated to cool at least 2-4 hrs before beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used this frosting on a yellow cake and it was delicious. I refrigerated my frosting over night. Then frost my cake and placed it in the fridge. I took the cake out while eating dinner and it was perfect for serving. Tasted AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Bummer! Honestly I'd have skipped this recipe if I'd had half a clue what a challenging mess it would turn into. First of all, yes, it tastes alright, but if made as written it is a TERRIBLE consistency. I ended up adding half a bag of confectioner's sugar to get it to even stay on my cake (it still slid off by the night's end). Plus, boiling the heavy cream and sugar ended up with the worst mess my stove has ever seen and almost caught the kitchen on fire. I'm sure Carol's mom in law rocked this recipe but I'd suggest you steer clear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States