Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
The taste of this frosting kicked butt -really. But the texture never really got to that frosting stage. More like an icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
okay. I wasnt sure whether to give this a four or a five star. First of all, I did not know exactly how much a pound of brown sugar was, so I used two cups. Followed everything else exactly, and let it cool completely in the fridge b4 stirring. However, it was sooo liquidy, and I had to keep adding icing sugar again and again and again...until I got the right consistency. The good thing is that I got there in the end! It came out really pretty and tastes pretty good too. It took forever though, and I added a looooot of icing sugar. In the end it was perfect for piping onto my cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I don't like caramel that much but wow! this is tasty! My family said it was ok, but I really liked it so I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
The flavor of this recipe is excellent but, as said by others, the key to getting the fluffy texture is in the complete chilling, not just cooling, of the mixture. I took it out of the frig too soon, then put it back in for longer until I was sure it was good and cold. I also added some confectioners sugar for just the right spreading consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Ok, I did it VERY wrong. I made it like the recipe said. I wanted to use it as a filling for a butter pecan cake, so I wanted a fluffy texture instead of gooey. I dont think I let it cool enough. BUT it did sit for 2 hours, with out mixing after adding the butter. After which I put into my mixer, and started mixing, I mixed and mixed and mixed and mixed, and it wasnt thickening. SO i added more whipped cream, maybe 3 cups! I figured THAT should thicken it, so I mixed and mixed and mixed more. Still to runny. So i started adding icing sugar, and mixed and mixed and mixed again. STILL too runny. So I DUMPED in some icing sugar, maybe another cup, and i mixed.....but OH NO it started seperating...It ended up looking like a cottage cheese kinda stuff, that was sitting ontop of the caramel sauce....SO dont do this! i will put it in the fridge next time for longer, and I will follow others suggestions....mine did not work! :( but it did taste good! And when I do get it right it will be excellent with a butter pecan cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
THank you so much for this recipe! It has amazing flavour. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is that I did end up having to add about 1 cup of icing sugar to get to spreading consistency. I followed others' suggestions and let it cool in the fridge for about an hour before beating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
Well I waited several hours for this to cool in fridge and then tried to mix with kitchen maid mixer and it never got thick. Was very runny and I am not sure what to do with it now. It has a very good flavor, but I needed a frosting not a glaze. I also tried to add 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, but that didn't really help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
If you fill out your profile on this site, it asks what your cooking disaster was. This was mine. I read all the reviews; one of them says the frosting should be creamy, light and fluffy, not like a glaze. I followed the directions as written, except I doubled it. I should have used a much larger pot - when you add the baking soda, this stuff REALLY grows, and some of it overflowed my saucepan. What a mess. I let it sit until room temperature, using a bowl of ice water, for about 2 hours. I beat it, and beat it with a hand mixer. Not getting any results, and put some of the mixture in my KitchenAid and beat that for over ten minutes. Nothing. Then I decided to add some confectioner's sugar to what was in the KitchenAid. It made it a little thicker, but way to sweet, and gritty. Then I decided to try some with instant pudding mix, hoping that would thicken it up. That didn't work. Then I whipped some heavy cream and folded that into some of the mixture. That didn't work either. I was finally out of ideas. It never came out like frosting, just a glaze. So if that's what you're looking for, this tastes good (sweet, but good), go for it. I think this would be fine for glazing a Bundt cake. It takes a LONG time to cool. I worked on this recipe for about 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
THE BEST....BEST caramel frosting I have ever eaten. Tastes exactly like caramel and is the consistency you need for frosting. A little bit of time, but well worth the effort. You will not regret this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mitchell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This never did set up for me even after I kept it in the fridge about an hour and a half before mixing. Adding confectioner's sugar only compromised the flavor. If I were basing it on taste alone, I would give it a 5, but since it was essentially not useable for my cake, I lowered it to a 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States