Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Michele Johnson
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
So good! I did as others suggested and put it in the refrigerator for about an hour. I found it was still a little runny so I added some powdered sugar to reach a good spreading consistency (I estimate it was about 1/2 cup total.) It has a great flavor and goes really well with the crazy cake recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I found myself eating this straight out of the bowl. I put it on white cake with coconut and pecans. I also added coconut to the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Soo Easy! I let mine cool in the fridge for about an hour and let it sit for about 20 and it was really yummie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
A friend of mine at work was leaving and since Im the baker in the bunch, she requested chocolate cupcakes with caramel frosting. THIS WAS THE BEST CARMEL FROSTING EVER!!! I also recommend that you let the frosting and the stick of butter sit in the fridge for at least an hour and a half and to add a couple tablespoons of the heavy whipping cream for the beating process! THIS WAS A HIT!! Thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grams apprentice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great tasting recipe. I followed a tip left in another review and made the frosting the day before then refrigerated it overnight. Because I didn't mix in the butter at the hot stage, I had trouble incorporating it into the mix and had butter lumps; no problem: after a lot of mixing (stand mixer with paddle on high) the lumps whipped out. Shiny, fluffy frosting. However, I didn't use it right away and a couple of hours later (at room temp), when I piped it, the frosting didn't hold it's shape well. Not sure how it would have held up if I'd used it immediately; used this recipe for a decorate-your-own-cupcake party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made this for caramel apple cupcakes. When whipping it in the mixer, I added a cup of powdered sugar and several splashes of cream to make it frosting like. I also added about 1/4 tsp of salt to the sugar and cream while it was cooking. The flavor was pretty good, but doesn't taste like commercial caramels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ziprose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
i don't know what happened the frosting was to runny. But it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tybrit18

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I give this a four on flavor, but a five on texture. It is the creamiest caramel frosting I've ever made. There was absolutely no graininess the next day, even though most recipes I've tried had at least some minor graininess on day two. It took about 12 minutes to beat it to the correct texture, so be prepared to spend a little more time with this recipe than most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
yum yum yum!! we ate it from the bowl...after frosting a 9x13 cake there were small pieces of caramel that didnt mix and i personally thought this was the best part...after making it in the morning and putting it in the garage for the rest of the day i came home from sled riding and whipped it right up will def make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Drum, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This recipe starts out like a traditional recipe for caramel candy. I took that into consideration when I began cooking the cream and brown sugar. Definately use a big pot! When the baking soda is added I almost had a catastrophe on my hands. A saucepan is not going to cut it. This stuff foams up like crazy. After a few hours, I came back and began whipping it with my electric mixer. Like other reviews it wasn't getting fluffy. I only refrigerated it for 20 minutes, but Holy Cow! It was pretty much caramel candy by that point. I have a cheap-o 10 dollar electric mixer and there was no way I was going to try to whip that up. I stuck it on top of some boiling water and softened it up some, but my electric mixer still refused to move and was screaming at me. This was the best I was able to get it. Which is okay because I was just making the cake for at home anyway. This frosting was so thick I tore the top off of my cake - but the difference between this kind of caramel frosting and a quick caramel frosting made with powdered sugar is out of this world! This is the real deal. Absolutely amazing. If I had a nice industrial Kitchenaid to whip this up to fluffiness it would be phenomenal... but I don't and that certainly isn't the recipes fault. So I will wait for the day I can get a decent mixer and say that this is the best frosting I have tasted in FOREVER and it ranks right up there with the holy grail of frostings - Whipped Ganache
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States