Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Tastes fantastic, but is essentially nonfunctional as a frosting. I let it sit/cool overnight, and it just doesn't whip up into a frosting. I added a bunch of powdered sugar, which got into a more-frosting-like state, but I still wouldn't call it fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Super Yummy! I put it in the fridge for two days that mixed. My hand held mixer smoked and got hot so I added an extra 2 Tbsp of heavy cream. The frosting turned out smooth, I wouldn't say fluffy, it was a little running, so when I put it onto my cookies it spread out and didn't hold its shape well, but tasted great. I would have had to add more sugar to make it holds its shape better. I will defentily make this again. This isn't a good recipe to go on top of cupcakes, but great to go inside cupcakes as a filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I don't know what i did wrong, i followed the advice and chilled it in the fridge, then beat it with 2-3 tablespoons of heavy cream. But i tasted it and it was super gritty! I have about 20 minutes to come up with a frosting and i am desperate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utooley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
High hopes and equally high disappointment. Although its taste can't be beat--probably the best i've tasted--the caramel can't be beat enough into frosting. Rather it's just a very thick caramel sauce. I was sure to read and follow everyone's advice about letting the mixture cool completely before beating--I let it cool overnight--and still after 20 minutes on high in my Kitchenaid stand mixer it's just thick caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was a very interesting recipe, but too sweet for my taste. However, my bf who claims to HATE sweets, liked it! (He could have just been nice though because he saw how time consuming it was) After over two hours in the fridge it did not whip up like a frosting, stayed very sticky. I added 2 T of cream and 2 T of powdered sugar - that gave it better consistency but is likely why it is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very very tasty, I also sometimes will not blend as long and use as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Too sweet, not true caramel flavor. Also, mine never set up, not after an overnight chill, not after 2 beatings in my kitchenaid, not after the addition of 1 cup cornstarch, and another cup of powdered sugar. Could be the humidity here I suppose, but at any rate, I can't use it. It makes a ton too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good. I forgot the baking soda while i was making it. stuck it into the freezer for it to cool off faster. Whipped it with my kitchen aid mixer with the whisk attachment. I had to add a few rounded tablespoons of powdered sugar. I found no use for the baking soda, if you dont have any, dont worry about it. i iced this onto my apple cake and it was a big hit at my church's meet and greet. thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Five stars for its decadently luscious flavor and murderously silken texture. But only two stars for insufficient instructions and difficulty. One pound of brown sugar equals 2-1/4 cups, packed. This is a large amount, so the last thing you want to have to do is add powdered sugar to get the proper consistency. That said, the instructions should say that the brown sugar/cream mixture needs not only to "cool" but to be refrigerated until ice cold. Mine was cool, 2 hours at room temp and 1 hour in the fridge, but not completely chilled. And I beat it for over 10 minutes in my KitchenAid mixer, with no thickening. So I added a yolk (not advised for pregnant women nor young children) and this helped it gain some body. But the real thickening came when I refrigerated it for 6 hours. Success! Needs to be stored in the fridge, as well (on your baked good, as well as the leftovers) to avoid its becoming too soft. Fabulous taste, but way, WAY too fussy for most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States