Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
this was very tasty. my mixer broke so i had to hand beat the thing. it wasnt as airy as the picture depicts, however, im SURE its bc i got tired :( the taste was awesome. definitly make it again and try a mixer this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Tastes fantastic, but is essentially nonfunctional as a frosting. I let it sit/cool overnight, and it just doesn't whip up into a frosting. I added a bunch of powdered sugar, which got into a more-frosting-like state, but I still wouldn't call it fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
YUM-O!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Super Yummy! I put it in the fridge for two days that mixed. My hand held mixer smoked and got hot so I added an extra 2 Tbsp of heavy cream. The frosting turned out smooth, I wouldn't say fluffy, it was a little running, so when I put it onto my cookies it spread out and didn't hold its shape well, but tasted great. I would have had to add more sugar to make it holds its shape better. I will defentily make this again. This isn't a good recipe to go on top of cupcakes, but great to go inside cupcakes as a filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I don't know what i did wrong, i followed the advice and chilled it in the fridge, then beat it with 2-3 tablespoons of heavy cream. But i tasted it and it was super gritty! I have about 20 minutes to come up with a frosting and i am desperate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utooley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
High hopes and equally high disappointment. Although its taste can't be beat--probably the best i've tasted--the caramel can't be beat enough into frosting. Rather it's just a very thick caramel sauce. I was sure to read and follow everyone's advice about letting the mixture cool completely before beating--I let it cool overnight--and still after 20 minutes on high in my Kitchenaid stand mixer it's just thick caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was a very interesting recipe, but too sweet for my taste. However, my bf who claims to HATE sweets, liked it! (He could have just been nice though because he saw how time consuming it was) After over two hours in the fridge it did not whip up like a frosting, stayed very sticky. I added 2 T of cream and 2 T of powdered sugar - that gave it better consistency but is likely why it is too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Franklin Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Very very tasty, I also sometimes will not blend as long and use as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Too sweet, not true caramel flavor. Also, mine never set up, not after an overnight chill, not after 2 beatings in my kitchenaid, not after the addition of 1 cup cornstarch, and another cup of powdered sugar. Could be the humidity here I suppose, but at any rate, I can't use it. It makes a ton too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gaelin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very good. I forgot the baking soda while i was making it. stuck it into the freezer for it to cool off faster. Whipped it with my kitchen aid mixer with the whisk attachment. I had to add a few rounded tablespoons of powdered sugar. I found no use for the baking soda, if you dont have any, dont worry about it. i iced this onto my apple cake and it was a big hit at my church's meet and greet. thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States