Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
It really did come out perfect! I followed the boiling instructions almost to the T. Then I took other's advice and put it in the fridge for an hour. It looked like a dark brown color when I brought it out but as soon as I started beating it the color became a lighter brown and the texture was perfect, fluffy and creamy. I would say its a little bit thicker than the average buttercream, but I prefer that so it was okay. Also, this a very rich, traditional salty sweet caramel flavor, like fresh caramel, not like store bought sugary caramel. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I followed the recipe,but it did not get fluffy at all.The taste was good but was not usable as icing. I may try to work on it to make it work.Thanks for sharing the family recipe :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rocky Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I followed the recipe as written, and when the mixture boiled, I poured it into a stainless steel bowl that I had put in the freezer the night before to get it real cold (I did NOT stir, I just poured it in quickly.) I then put the mixture in the fridge for about 6 hours. I whipped it with my hand mixer, and the frosting came out perfect! The frosting is delicious, definitely not too sweet, and just the right flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
The flavor was wonderful! The texture was crunchy. (Noting I live in a humid area and there was a torrential downpour outside; what did I do wrong?) I followed the directions to the letter, but even after 25 minutes of beating the mixture, there were still millions of bits of crystallized caramel-sugar. It was also too soft to pipe. I was out of time, so I used it anyway. My husband's comment?... "Uuuhmm, crunchy, interesting."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
never got to finish it mother in law threw out. Seemed pretty sweet and sugary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Mine never got fluffy (think it was me and not the recipe) but it was still amazingly delicious...more like a caramel sauce / glaze than a frosting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Very easy and good! I did have to add some powdered sugar to thicken it up some for a cake. I added even more for the decoration portion. I put this on top of a chocolate cake with chocolate filling, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This tasted so good! We used it to fill a white cake fro my aunt's bridal shower. The only thing different I did was add more cream and some powdered sugar after it had cooled to get a more fluffy consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This is a delicious frosting! I usually make the Betty Crocker Caramel Frosting, but it's very heavy and sweet. This is light and fluffy and still maintains a strong caramel flavor. I did cut the brown sugar almost in half and I used it on a banana cake and it was just right, plenty sweet. I highly recommend this frosting. It would be great on an apple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
this was very tasty. my mixer broke so i had to hand beat the thing. it wasnt as airy as the picture depicts, however, im SURE its bc i got tired :( the taste was awesome. definitly make it again and try a mixer this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States