Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe! Used the suggestion of adding 3 tbs of cream alternately with powdered sugar. Took forEVER to whip it up, but totally worth it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by becjones
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This worked perfectly on my salted carmel mini cupcakes. I added about a cup of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by becjones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made as recipe stated and followed reviews to cool completely and refrigerate....I added 2 cups powdered sugar and it still was too thin to use as icing..it was more of a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Tasted AMAZING, but didnt fluff up. It was more like a thick glaze, or an icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sasha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This recipe is magical. I used store-brand brown sugar, whipping cream and butter. I used 2 cups of firmly-packed brown sugar and followed the recipe instructions exactly. I did let the caramel cool in the fridge for about 1 hour and then moved it to the freezer for about 30 minutes to speed up the cooling process. It was completely chilled and cold, which must be the key to this recipe. (Thanks previous reviewers!) I followed the recipe and didn't stir the mixture after I put the butter in, and it left a film or "skin" of beautiful, buttery fat on top when I took it out of the freezer. I scooped it out of my saucepan (it was a very thick "paste", but still fairly easy to get out of the pan) and put it into my Kitchenaid mixer. The color began to lighten almost instantly upon beating with the paddle attachment. I started the mixer on medium for about 1 minute to get it going and then beat for another 4-5 minutes (max) on high. The consistency is silky smooth and the taste is REAL homemade caramel. I piped it onto mini caramel apple cupcakes and it piped like a dream. Thank you Carol for sharing this classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This frosting is freakin' amazing. I did not add any confectioner's sugar and did not really need to add the few tablespoons of the heavy cream. It whipped into frosting like a dream in a couple of minutes in my kitchen aid. I did need to microwave it a little to get it out of the bowl but after that easy breezy! I am not sure how the other reviewer's ran into problems. I paired this with David's Yellow Cake and it was fabulous. I will make this again and again and again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Amazing , simple wonderful flavor for special cake days. Cooling time in freezer 15 minutes. Added a few tablespoons of cream while beating as previously suggested. Family favorite from now on.I made this w/ the caramel cake and caramel icing recipe jsut used this icing instead. Would be a great county fair entry.Blue ribbon for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I would really love to give this recipe a higher rating because it is SO DELICIOUS, but I can't justify doing that because the results aren't "as advertised". I will definitely make this again but I will not be using it as a frosting - only as a filling. The only way to use this as a frosting is to make sure whatever you frost remains refrigerated at all times - it can never come to room temp or it will simply "melt" off the baked good. I tried all the tricks that were suggested and the best I could do was light and fluffy when refrigerated. Basically - perfect for a cake or cupcake filling - just not the best for a room temp frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prittykitty74

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This frosting doesn't get fluffy but it does beat up lighter. I added a dollop more of cream after it had cooled with about 1/2 cup powdered sugar and ended with perfection. Frosted Pumpkin Ginger Cupcakes and had a hit with everyone, even those who don't like sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I love caramel and this frosting is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Gillis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States