Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by tumtum
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I followed some tips from other reviewers (adding tbs of heavy whipping cream and tbs of confectioners sugar, alternatively until it reached my desired consistency) and it turned out great! However, it was a little too sweet for me, but I know most people like sweet frosting. I'm going to try to cut back on the brown sugar and increase heavy whipping cream next time and see if that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I love this recipe!! The flavor was phenomenal. I took the suggestions of other reviews and allowed my frosting to cool off in the freezer(45 mins to an hour). Once it cooled I mixed it with my mixer and it was ready to be spread on my cake. Awesome recipe and award winning taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mskygirl01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Absolutely amazing!!! And if you cool it completely, it whips up to the most wonderful consistency - light and not too sweet. If you're looking for a heavy frosting, like a butter cream, this is not it. It probably fits somewhere between whipped cream and butter cream on the consistency scale. Also, the color is simply beautiful. I put mine in the refrigerator after it was done to help in the cooling process. It forms a bit of skin on top, and that's when you know it's safe to beat it. I beat it for about a minute and a half on medium speed with an electric mixer. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times and I have to say - don't mess with it!! When you make it exactly as directed, it is perfect. It seems liquidy and weird when you cook it, but once you let it cool and whip it up, it turns fully and delicious. Amazing caramel flavor, smooth texture, a total winner. Swapping in powdered sugar makes it runny and a little too sweet, half and half will make a sauce that is fabulous on ice cream, but otherwise useless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe is amazing but you MUST let it cool completely. It is not difficult to make it just take patience. Powdered sugar should not be necessary if you just let it cool. I do agree however that if left at room temperature it does not keep its fluffy consistency but it still tastes wonderful...just a little gooey. I think it would be better for cake frosting than cupcakes unless you keep them refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Hayes Plank
Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Winning dessert due to this recipe! You definitely have to wait for the frosting to cool...like a couple of hours in order for it to come to a great consistency to work with. The flavor is like a piece of caramel candy nice and buttery. I have tried two other recipes this taste is definitely different and stands out from the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Followed the suggestions in the reviews and it turned out fabulously!! Withouth following the suggestions, you get a caramel sauce or glaze. Still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Holly cow, this is the BEST frosting I've ever had in my life. 10 times better than the local cupcake shop's caramel frosting. I only gave it 4 stars though because the instructions seem to be a bit off. As with many of the other reviewers, I put mine in the fridge overnight and then whipped it up in the morning in my KitchenAid mixer. I also had to add some powdered sugar to stabilize it. Not sure how much I added - spoonfuls until it didn't ooze so much. But the powdered sugar didn't really change the taste much, so it was still AMAZING. Entirely worth the time and effort. If the instructions accounted for the powdered sugar and the time it takes to cool, this would be 5 stars. 10 stars if I could give that many!! My new fav!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
LOVED this recipe! I followed the recipe additions below by Theresa and it was PERFECT! My only suggestion is to use a heavy duty mixer. Maybe it was my fridge that cooled the frosting too much but when I went to mix it with my hand held mixer it showed to be too thick for it. I had to mix it up a bit with a wooden spoon and let it warm up a bit before I could attempt to mix it again. Unfortunately, I did not have access to a KitchenAid mixer because that would have been perfect for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Delicious! Came out wonderfully. I followed the tips left by Teresa and had no problems at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States