Caramel Frosting V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I love this recipe!! I have made it several times and never had a problem. Make sure frosting is chilled before whipping and add a small amount of powdered sugar if needed. I have used this on banana cake, yellow cake and chocolate. Fluffy enough for piping. Never any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
This is the best frosting recipe I've tried. Needs to be dead cold before whipping so plan ahead. Great with Burnt Sugar Cake II on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
I made this recipe adding the butter in with the brown sugar, baking soda and whipping cream and then bringing it to a boil for 2-3 minutes. It should have a thick, syrup-like consistency. Then add powdered sugar (to taste) and let it simmer for 1 minute . Then let it cool completely and whip with an electric mixer for about 4-5 minutes and you will have a wonderful frosting with a fluffy, creamy consistency that is smply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is an excellent recipe and tastes great! However, this frosting must be cooled completely in the pan (Probably well over 2 hours or more) I whipped it once, when i thought it was cool enough (about an hour) and it started to come together, on the highest speed on my mixer and was a very dark color. Then I waited another half hour and whipped it again at the highest speed on my mixer (speed 9) then it started to lighten to the color of the picture shown with this recipe and then it was totally awesome! I wouldn't change a thing except I think you may have to mix this recipe with a high speed mixer (the large "stand up kind" with a wire whip like a high speed "Kitchen Aid" mixer. Otherwise, this recipe is the real deal of caramel frostings. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Flavor was great; but the picture does not reflect the true appearance of the frosting without using powdered sugar, also it should be stated to cool at least 2-4 hrs before beating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used this frosting on a yellow cake and it was delicious. I refrigerated my frosting over night. Then frost my cake and placed it in the fridge. I took the cake out while eating dinner and it was perfect for serving. Tasted AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Bummer! Honestly I'd have skipped this recipe if I'd had half a clue what a challenging mess it would turn into. First of all, yes, it tastes alright, but if made as written it is a TERRIBLE consistency. I ended up adding half a bag of confectioner's sugar to get it to even stay on my cake (it still slid off by the night's end). Plus, boiling the heavy cream and sugar ended up with the worst mess my stove has ever seen and almost caught the kitchen on fire. I'm sure Carol's mom in law rocked this recipe but I'd suggest you steer clear!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twebby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Not sure what I did wrong, but I got a very tasty thikck caramel glaze rather than my ideas of a frosting. I chilled the mixture completely overnight in the fridge and beat in in my standing mixer what felt like forever, but the frosting was more pourable rather than spreadible. I used it over a German apple cake from this site, it still tasted good and got gobbled up fast, but it definately was nothing like the picture. I still have 1/2 the mixture left over, so perhaps I will add confectioners sugar to see if can get the consistency I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by WildFan16
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I did have to make some modifications to this recipe to get it to be really fluffy (like the other reviewers suggest). I saved out a few tbsp's of the whipping cream. I let the "finished" mixture cool in the fridge for about 1.5hrs. I got it back out and added the remainder of the whipping cream as well as added about 3 & 1/3 cups of confectioner sugar (1/3 of a cup at a time). The mixture was still not the consistency I wanted (even after beating it forever), so I put it in the fridge overnight. I got it out the next day and it was very dense. Put it back in the mixer and mixed until it was a fluffy icing consistency. It piped very well and held it's shape perfectly. Not to mention it was so delicious I could just eat spoonfuls of the icing by itself. :) I will definitely be making this one again. A little more work, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WildFan16

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is such a delicious frosting! It's light, has a great flavor and its sweet. I made it for the first time and my husband loved it. I did not refrigerate the caramel as suggested, but let it cool completely on the counter,covered it and let it sit overnight. When I mixed it the next day, it took just about 1 hour to get it to a stable consistency-like buttercream. I did add a touch of powdered sugar and 3-4 tbsp of room temp butter to help the consistency. The next time I make this I will refrigerate it to see if it lessens the mixing time. Can't wait to make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States