Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
This recipe was amazing. I used it on a Duncan Hines butter cake, and only made 2 small changes to the recipe as written. I used half and half instead of milk and I only added 2 cups of confectioners sugar since it seemed sweet enough with just that much. Using one less cup of confectioners sugar gave it a very soft texture, but I just poured all of it onto the top of my cake and smoothed it down the sides. A definite keeper, very rich but perfect for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtneybee81
Reviewed: May 25, 2015
easy to make and delicious. not too sweet or overbearing in flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
This was AMAZING!!! I actually only used 1 cup of the confectioners sugar and it was perfect. My kids and I ate almost the whole 5x5 cake in a matter of hours! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I followed the directions for the most part to make the caramel, but rather than add confectioners sugar to the caramel, I softened one and a half cups of butter and creamed in a bowl. I then added the confectioners sugar to the butter and beat on low speed. I then slowly added the caramel. It resulted in a perfect caramel buttercream frosting. It was also the perfect amount to frost two nine inch round cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is wonderful. It didn't taste to much like Carmel till I learned when you boil the brown sugar longer then two mins, it really makes it taste like Carmel,.also a little makes alot. I drizzle it over Apple cinnamon rolls, makes the prefect Carmel apple cinnamon rolls. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I like sweet, but this frosting was just too much. The caramel flavor is there and the consistency was great to work with, but it's just altogether too sweet to be truly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Tastes like Granny's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
This is great but the cake in the picture looks amazing as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
This was a disaster. Turned out with a grainy texture and brown sugary lumps in it. I think the directions need more specifics on the temperature to melt the butter and boil the sugar. When I added the milk the mixture it was so hot I had steaming boiling milk splattering all over and nearly burned myself. I won't even mess with trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smelvin
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Icing taste great, exactly the taste I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States