Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Good recipe!! Taste really good. I didn't add as nearly as much powdered sugar as the recipe call for but it tastes like caramel even before you get to the powdered sugar part and taste fine as it is, though I probably wouldn't add as much salt as the recipe called for, but great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Helloooo sweet tooth ~ this is some serious sugar! This recipe did not turn grainy nor develop a 'crust' like other caramel frosting recipes I've tried, probably due to reheating the caramel after the addition of milk which allows any rogue sugar crystals to cook out. While the caramel sauce IS good on its own (better over ice cream.. ahem), I wanted a frosting thicker than a glaze, but without compromising that rich buttery brown sugar flavor. To achieve that, I whipped in about 1C - 1 1/2 C confectioners sugar, tasted and still found it too (confectionary) sweet. Stirring in a dollop of sour cream instead of milk took the edge off and produced the consistency I desired to top a spicy apple cake. Many thanks to Glenda for this delectable submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
SO SO wonderful! Its not a good consistency to pipe with an icing tip because it doesnt really hold its shape but it tastes OH SO GOOD! I LOVE this recipe and I'll be using it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I cannot believe how good this frosting is! I wasn't so sure after I removed it from the heat the first time because it got a bit lumpy, but after adding the milk and reheating, it smoothed right out. I was very excited to find out that this turned out great even though I substituted the original recipe with soy milk. My hubby's lactose intolerant, so when he said he loved it, I knew I had a keeper. This tastes heavenly spread over the Applesauce Cake VI, found here on this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Submitter calls this "A good creamy caramel frosting." That's an understatement. This is a beauty. I knew it would be before I even added the powdered sugar and thought to myself that I'd like to pour some of that caramel sauce over ice cream or a piece of apple pie or apple cake. But I needed it for my "Spice Cupcakes," so I restrained myself. Submitter said you may need to add more milk - in my case, since I piped rather than spread the frosting, I had to add a tad more powdered sugar. It's easy enough to adjust one way or the other to suit your needs. This is a smooth, silky, caramel-y good frosting. Sweet, yes, as frosting is supposed to be, and perfect with the spice cupcakes which were only mildly sweet. It's a gorgeous looking frosting too and made my cupcakes almost look regal. Most important, it TASTES good. Tastes good, looks good - at the risk of being cliche, "it's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
not a fan of the "gloopy" texture but the taste is good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kwolff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
So so good. Used dark brown sugar and boiled until there were no more crunchy sugar bits. Still had a few but just ate those. You have to be flexible with the milk and powdered sugar amounts. Great flavor; extremely sweet (but in a good way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This needed a bit of tweaking. I added a splash more milk, some vanilla extract and about a cup more icing sugar. However, it was still a bit too thin to spread easily. I wound up pouring it over the cake and letting it spread itself out a bit. It looked gorgeous and covered the cake (Dark Chocolate cake II) very well. It looked great and tasted delicious, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good frosting. Very rich, very sweet, and easy to make. Used on Madred's Banana Cake that I normally make with a Cream Cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
After i added about 2 cups of the confectioners sugar i tasted it and it didnt even tast like caramel! it tasted like powered sugar. I make frosting all the time and this is the worst i have ever had! The whole point of using a caramel frosting is so that it will taste like caramel! i will not use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States