Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
OMG - this is just the best. My husband loves spice cake and I used to buy a canned carmel frosting, but they stopped making it. I have been looking for a substitute forever. Now, my husband just tells me to forget the cake; just give him a bowl of the icing. This is soooo easy to make and is just delicious. If there were more than 5 stars, I'd give all of them. Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Mmmm this frosting is delicious! I just made it today and have to keep myself from eating it by the spoonful before I frost my cake! I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Yancey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
To echo what everyone else has said, before adding the confectioner's sugar, you have a great caramel topping for ice cream, etc. The frosting is very good and will be made again and again in our household. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This was good, I had to add milk to get it to a spreadable consistency after adding the powdered sugar. I may decrease the amt of the sugar, as my hubby was scraping it off his piece of cake because it was too sweet for his taste. Will make again with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TyKrisMama
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Used dark brown sugar, reduced powdered sugar to 2 cups. Used this to frost the Jewish Apple Cake from this site, then sprinkled flaked sea salt over the top of the frosting. Amazing! The salt really makes the caramel pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This was unbelievably sweet with a strange texture. I was able to save it by adding 2 more sticks of softened butter and espresso powder, making it creamier and less achingly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe was okay...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Wow, great frosting!!! I rarely review recipes online, but I had to let everyone know this is delicious. Decadent, creamy and layers of flavor. This will be my go to caramel frosting! The caramel flavor had more depth than any of it's kind I've ever had. Must try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrpie
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is the frosting of all frostings!!! I had to substitute heavy whipping for the milk. The final product was pure sweet caramel happiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Good caramel flavor bur it's very sweet frosting. I'd recommend to frost the cake right away after making it since it gets very stiff quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States