Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I made this for the first time yesterday, i followed it to the letter, it was very tasty but it was way too stiff i almost had to sculpt it on my cake, i will make it again but i will add way more milk as i'm beating the icing sugar into it, the taste was superb and it was like eating fugde, it went nicely on my never fail chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was just what I was hoping for. It is rich and creamy. I used a little less powdered sugar and added a dab of milk to make it fluffier and creamier. And I sprinkled a little rock sea salt on them for salty caramel frosting on chocolate cupcakes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
The recipe is amazing. It tasted more like caramel fudge. I used it on a spiced banana cake with toasted coconut as a garnish and it was amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
WAY too thick. I would not make this without modifications unless you have a really tough cake that will stand up to a super stiff frosting. Taste was really good, I tripled the salt to make "salted caramel" which had a terrific flavor - but my cake couldn't stand up to the thickness of this frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is wayyyyyyy... too sweet! I even paired it with a not-very sweet espresso cupcake and it was still too much. Like a previous reviewer mentioned though, the caramel part would be great over ice cream! Despite the too sweetness of it I think the taste is good and very caramelly. Perhaps if used as a VERY thin layer in the center of a layer cake it might be good, as long as the frosting on the outside is not overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clovis, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Really, really tasty! Great caramel flavor. It's tough to get this the right consistency for decorating though - I'd recommend a different recipe for that. I reserved a little of the caramel before adding the powdered sugar to drizzle on the finished product. Tasted AND looked amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent! I thought it would be way too sweet, it was sweet but not too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
OMG - this is just the best. My husband loves spice cake and I used to buy a canned carmel frosting, but they stopped making it. I have been looking for a substitute forever. Now, my husband just tells me to forget the cake; just give him a bowl of the icing. This is soooo easy to make and is just delicious. If there were more than 5 stars, I'd give all of them. Yummmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy O'Neal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Mmmm this frosting is delicious! I just made it today and have to keep myself from eating it by the spoonful before I frost my cake! I followed the directions exactly and it came out perfect. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trista Yancey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
To echo what everyone else has said, before adding the confectioner's sugar, you have a great caramel topping for ice cream, etc. The frosting is very good and will be made again and again in our household. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States