Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This needed a bit of tweaking. I added a splash more milk, some vanilla extract and about a cup more icing sugar. However, it was still a bit too thin to spread easily. I wound up pouring it over the cake and letting it spread itself out a bit. It looked gorgeous and covered the cake (Dark Chocolate cake II) very well. It looked great and tasted delicious, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Good frosting. Very rich, very sweet, and easy to make. Used on Madred's Banana Cake that I normally make with a Cream Cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
After i added about 2 cups of the confectioners sugar i tasted it and it didnt even tast like caramel! it tasted like powered sugar. I make frosting all the time and this is the worst i have ever had! The whole point of using a caramel frosting is so that it will taste like caramel! i will not use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Yum Yum Yummy Yum Yum! Perfect as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. I tasted it before I added the powdered sugar, and I didn't see how it could possibly get better so I didn't bother wasting three cups of powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: La Porte, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
EXCELLENT! Put it on cupcakes made with Trader Joe's vanilla cake! So easy and delicious! the frosting is a great texture for spreading on thick! This recipe was good for 25 cupcakes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This was my first time to make caramel frosting. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for. My family liked the overall flavor, but said it was a little too sweet and stiff. I recommend using 2 1/2 cups of confectioner's sugar instead of 3. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
really really good. a bit thin. i too added some corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was wonderful!! I was looking for something I remembered from my childhood and this was dead on! I followed the recipe exactly - except I could not wait patiently for it to cool, so I put it in an ice water bath and got it cooled in no time. Everyone loved it on top of the spice cake. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I love this recipe. I get lots of requests for this frosting on cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States