Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Submitter calls this "A good creamy caramel frosting." That's an understatement. This is a beauty. I knew it would be before I even added the powdered sugar and thought to myself that I'd like to pour some of that caramel sauce over ice cream or a piece of apple pie or apple cake. But I needed it for my "Spice Cupcakes," so I restrained myself. Submitter said you may need to add more milk - in my case, since I piped rather than spread the frosting, I had to add a tad more powdered sugar. It's easy enough to adjust one way or the other to suit your needs. This is a smooth, silky, caramel-y good frosting. Sweet, yes, as frosting is supposed to be, and perfect with the spice cupcakes which were only mildly sweet. It's a gorgeous looking frosting too and made my cupcakes almost look regal. Most important, it TASTES good. Tastes good, looks good - at the risk of being cliche, "it's a keeper."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Positively delightful, and a little goes a long way. Very sweet, which can be your friend or your enemy depending on how you want to use this. I've found that if you boil it a little longer than two minutes after you get the brown sugar in, you get a much stronger caramel flavor. The longer you boil, the stronger the flavor is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Perfect. Exactly what my mom used to make...and easy! I use this to top the "Daddy's Dang Banana Cake" on this site and it is SOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This frosting is awesome! It was very easy to make. The only thing I did different was added about 1/2 c. more confectioner sugar to make it a little thicker. The taste was great. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
THis is very similar to a recipe I use. I want to add that using dark brown sugar instead of light brown makes a much tastier frosting. This is wonderful on yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Broomfield, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is an absolutely delicious caramel frosting! I used it to frost a homemade caramel cake, and it was wonderful. I was in a hurry, so I cooled the butter/brown sugar/milk mixture by placing the bowl into another bowl full of ice water. This cooled the mixture down in less than 10 minutes, and the frosting turned out great! Thanks for sharing, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I added 1 tablespoon milk when beating together and the frosting turned out very smooth - very easy to spread. I put the frosting on some yellow cupcakes and they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
5 stars for taste. 3-4 for the texture. Caramel was looking good until I added the milk. I put in the 6 T as directed then mixed it together only to find that the sugar or something has separated and I ended up with little white clumps. Maybe I should have mixed it WHILE adding in the milk. So I boiled for a while over the heat hoping the clumps will melt off and some did. I ended up having to strain the sauce...which worked. I let it coo then added in the sugar one cup at a time. I only needed 2 cups...or could have even done less because it was quite thick. The first few cupcakes I frosted turned out pretty (I just spread them with a butter knife) but the cupcakes at the end ended up with clumpy looking frosting...sigh...maybe I should have reheated the frosting? This frosting is worth taking a second stab at it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennipupu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Excellent. Be flexible enough to add more or less milk or 10X sugar to get the right consistency depending on your use. I use a little more milk and use this as a heavy glaze for cinnamon buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States