Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I've attempted caramel frosting numerous times, most without success because of complicated recipes that required lengthy boiling and specific temperatures. However, this recipe was so simple, problem free and absolutely DELICIOUS! Frosted a spice cake with this frosting tonight, and serving it to my husband for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtgirlatheart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I used this with chocolate cake. I thought it was really good (like a Mars bar) but most of the comments from my guests were that the frosting was too sweet. Maybe the combination of chocolate and caramel was just too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
A week ago a moving van filled our new home. My husband loves spice cake and caramel. His birthday is Aug. 4th. Wading through a sea of boxes I was able to make a cake – 4 days late. This frosting has been worth his wait! I used dark brown sugar and took the advice of one of the reviews to cook it longer to get more caramel flavor. I cooked the first round maybe 4 minutes – after adding milk let it boil almost 2 minutes – while cooling I sifted three cups of powdered sugar – sifting made much more than I needed. For 9x13 spice cake I had maybe ½ cup more than needed. It is a lot like caramel fudge. Next time I’ll play around using a mixer and more milk to see if I can get any ‘fluff’ into this frosting. I am also thinking about finding a use for the 1st caramel phase- as it tastes better than the final frosting. When I unpack my spices I’ll make a spice cake from scratch with little or no sugar in it – and let this incredibly sweet frosting meet more than enough sweetness. My husband is happy. But I look forward to finding some use for the caramel phase of this – it taste is – ooohhh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This is a wonderful Carmel Frosting, however I think 1/4 tsp. of salt is a little to much. I made this frosting twice. The first time I used salted butter and forgot to add the salt and it was wonderful. The second time I used salted butter and used the 1/4 tsp. of salt and it was just a tiny bit to salty for me, but still good. In my opinion the 1/4 tsp. of salt would be okay if unsalted butter was used. I will continue to use this recipe because even with the salty sweet taste it is the best carmel I've ever made for my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Wow! I stuck to the exact recipe and it's amazing. My family loves it. We had it on spice cake. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Had a request from a friend for yellow cake (used David's yellow cake) and caramel frosting. Was deliciously caramel. Definitely for a sweet tooth! I know this is odd, but the recipe paired very well with beer (yuengling)...give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This has great caramel flavor. It was thick so I added more milk and 1 t. of butter flavoring, but so delicious and it sets up really well. It is hot and I love a frosting that can hold in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This frosting came out good but, in my opinion, way too sweet to frost an entire cake with. I used it for just the filling in a dark chocolate layer cake (Black Magic Cake from this site). I sprinkled chopped pecans on the filling, which made it taste like praline filling, and I frosted the cake with French Silk Frosting (also from this site). It tasted like a turtle cake....delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I made this for the first time yesterday, i followed it to the letter, it was very tasty but it was way too stiff i almost had to sculpt it on my cake, i will make it again but i will add way more milk as i'm beating the icing sugar into it, the taste was superb and it was like eating fugde, it went nicely on my never fail chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was just what I was hoping for. It is rich and creamy. I used a little less powdered sugar and added a dab of milk to make it fluffier and creamier. And I sprinkled a little rock sea salt on them for salty caramel frosting on chocolate cupcakes. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States