Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Absolutely yummy although it takes a little time. But it was worth it for me and my guests - everybody loved it on the Banana Cake X from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazydoglady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Perfect. Exactly what my mom used to make...and easy! I use this to top the "Daddy's Dang Banana Cake" on this site and it is SOOO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
this frosting is so yummy! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This frosting is awesome! It was very easy to make. The only thing I did different was added about 1/2 c. more confectioner sugar to make it a little thicker. The taste was great. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
THis is very similar to a recipe I use. I want to add that using dark brown sugar instead of light brown makes a much tastier frosting. This is wonderful on yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This is good but I honestly can't see how icing sugar is part of this recipe. It's already so sweet from the brown sugar, I can't imagine how sweet it would be with the icing sugar. And because of that, I used 3 tsps of flour to substitute as a thickening agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Excellent. Be flexible enough to add more or less milk or 10X sugar to get the right consistency depending on your use. I use a little more milk and use this as a heavy glaze for cinnamon buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAZAARBAKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Positively delightful, and a little goes a long way. Very sweet, which can be your friend or your enemy depending on how you want to use this. I've found that if you boil it a little longer than two minutes after you get the brown sugar in, you get a much stronger caramel flavor. The longer you boil, the stronger the flavor is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ella Fanther

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I thought this was an excellent recipe. I added 1 tablespoon milk when beating together and the frosting turned out very smooth - very easy to spread. I put the frosting on some yellow cupcakes and they were scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Far, far too sweet and tastes too much of powdered sugar. Not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States