Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
This is an absolutely delicious caramel frosting! I used it to frost a homemade caramel cake, and it was wonderful. I was in a hurry, so I cooled the butter/brown sugar/milk mixture by placing the bowl into another bowl full of ice water. This cooled the mixture down in less than 10 minutes, and the frosting turned out great! Thanks for sharing, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This recipe was good. I made it for a chocolate layer cake box mix when I was extremely snacky. I don't like the way powdered sugar frostings spread, but for what it was, it was good. I didn't wait for the caramel to cool, as the purpose for heating it seemed to be for melting the sugar and not for cooking the caramel, so it really doesn't make a difference. Also, I put all the ingredients in the pan from the beginning and cooked it for about 2 minutes. I added a little bit of salt and vanilla, and also a little extra molasses for better color and flavor. Definitely would make again in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This was really easy to make. I took the advice of being certain to follow boiling instructions exactly. If you do this, your frosting should be great everytime. I used this frosting on the Betty Crocker Dulce de Leche Cake which is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by collegemom47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lizella, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Yummy! Goes great with Moist and Tender Spice Cake or cinnamon rolls. This recipe makes a lot- way more than you need for one cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice Mast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I made this recipe from a recipe book I have, the only thing different I did, was it called for 2 cups of the sugar, and to speed up cooling time,it suggested putting the pot in cold water until lukewarm. I did this and it speeds it up quite qickly, but it does taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chriss P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, New York, USA
Living In: Sodus Point, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I gave this 5 stars because of the taste. To top my Caramel layer cake with fudge frosting filling, I made the recipe exactly as it was written. But, I found that the frosting was way too stiff. I thought it was spreading consistency until I started frosting the cake. I ended up taking the stuff off as most as I could and it just rolled off...so I put what I could get back off the cake back into the bowl and re- beat it while adding some milk...fixed. Since the too stiff frosting messed up a part of my cake, I frosted it, topped it with pecans and took some leftover chocolate fudge frosting, put it in the microwave until runny and drizzled it all over to hide the problem. Just an idea for you if you have this problem too. I think the problem was the 2 minutes to boil...make sure it is just under or 2 minutes only, not any longer than that. I think I went over 2 minutes by about 20 seconds or so and that is what made it too thick. Great frosting taste overall and what I was looking form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I used this frosting on a white cake and it was amazing. I poured it on while it was still warm and smoothed it with a wet spatula for an almost "fondant-like" finish. it was awesome! The only thing I would do differently would be to add a touch of brown food color, I found the natural color a little off-putting, but the flavor was great! Thanks so much :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
So yummy! I added 1 tsp. of real vanilla after the cooking and cooling. Best on spice cake! Also, I think I figured out why some people got a grainy texture. You need to be sure that the brown sugar and butter come to a rolling boil before timing and also a rolling boil again after adding milk. Also, pour the caramel into your mixing bowl and then add the powdered sugar. Don't vigourously scrape the saucepan. If you do all this, you should get smooth results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
the texture was the only reason i'm giving this 3 stars. the taste was only of powder sugar NO CARMEL flavor. and yea the other reviewers were right it's too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Timmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Followed all the directions, and while the flavor was fine...the texture was grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States