Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is yummy...very rich, so a little goes a long way. I did have to add about another tablespoon of milk to get it to a spreadable consistency. I used this to frost German Apple Cake I on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
This was a bit thinner than I had hoped for but it tasted great! My husband loves those maple "sparkle" candies and he thought this frosting tasted just like them. If I had sprinkled some chopped toasted pecans on top, it would have been JUST like those candies. I may try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiGuest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
OMG! this was so good, reminds me of old fashioned caramel candies. I used 1 C less of the powdered sugar and a pinch more of salt and spread a thin layer on some fresh brownies. ***Awesome***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Delicious! But it came out closer to a glaze than a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
great flavor-a little difficult to spread even after I added extra milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebekah
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
I loooove this caramel frosting. My grandma always has used this recipe and I think of her everytime I make it. This frosting on top a yellow butter cake is a staple at church functions. I usually do 1 1/2 recipes though because I like is really thick. No frosting skimper here! ha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
It's all been said but I'll add that it goes perfectly with banana cake. Everyone loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellyn Oaksmith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This frosting is very delicious and delivers what it promises. It is smooth and creamy! I used light cream instead of milk - so it came out super rich too. I am sure it is rich with just the milk. But I actually took a spoon and started eating some of it as is! It is super sweet on it's own, almost like a caramel fudge. I frosted a vanilla/chocolate marble cake with this and it was the perfect combination. Did not overpower the cake and the overall sweetness of the frosting seemed to mellow out a bit with the cake. It's was delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Best frosting ever!!!, everyone kept talking about how creamy and delish it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vaneblu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
This was super easy and delicious. I halved the recipe since I was using it to drizzle on an apple bundt cake. (Half of the recipe was more than enough frosting for this purpose.) I used fat-free milk and added about 1 additional Tablespoon of milk to thin it to the desired consistency for drizzling, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I will definitely make this again and maybe try it on something with chocolate in it. Just one more thing, one of my family members said it reminded them of the frosting on a maple bar doughnut. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States