Caramel Frosting IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
As the recipe is written, only 4 stars. I had to keep adding and adding milk (cream actually). The end result was great, creamy and very spreadable, and I will likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Very easy and SO delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Delicious! I also used dark brown sugar, with tasty results. I ran out of powdered sugar at 2 1/2 cups. Next time I'll stop at 2 for better shine and spreadability without diluting the flavor. The caramel cooled quickly out on the porch in October, so I was able to make it in about 20 min total. Was fantastic with old Joy of Cooking recipe for banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
this is very good. kids love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This is THE tastiest frosting of all time. Anything I frost this with gets rave reviews. My favorite use for this frosting is on pumpkin cookies. When I use it as a frosting for cookies I replace the milk with water and it works just as well and sets up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetjunkie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Made this for my daughter and she is in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lleta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Very good! I cut back on the sugar by substituting corn starch for some of the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
Absolutely awesome especially on chopped apple cake during cool weather baking. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
What a fabulous caramel frosting recipe! I didn't find it too sweet, even when paired with butterscotch cupcakes. It had a delicious homemade caramel taste to it, without being overpowering. I had to add a bit of extra sugar and use my electric beater to get the perfect texture and consistency. Just one note, I'm famous for not paying attention to the serving size for the recipes on here and the recipe as is was way too much frosting for my little batch of cupcakes, but would have probably been just right if I was frosting a layer cake. I ended up freezing the leftover frosting for a few days and it defrosted fine (taste and texture-wise) for my next batch of cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is yummy...very rich, so a little goes a long way. I did have to add about another tablespoon of milk to get it to a spreadable consistency. I used this to frost German Apple Cake I on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States