Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Delicious! I spooned it over chocolate cake while the icing was still warm, and it set up nicely. If you want a frosting that doesn't harden as much, just add more butter. It's the fat in butter than makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. It was very easy to make. I used a little more milk, so it would be more of a glaze on my Applesauce Cake. Everyone has raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I can't say how this would be as a frosting for a layer or sheet cake, because I didn't use it that way. What I can say, however, is if you use about half the powdered sugar called for, and a little extra cream till desired consistency, this works beautifully as a glaze. I used it as a caramel glaze for apple muffins (1/2 recipe was just right for 12) and it was perfect--exactly what I was looking for! When hubs came home from work I had him taste a little dab of it for his opinion and he instantly knew it was caramel and thought it was very good! Smooth, not grainy, with a beautiful caramel color. I'll remember to use this again in just the same way for a great caramel icing for muffins or coffeecakes. It does, however, dry hard, so I'm not so sure I would like it as a cake frosting...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Yuck, I've had some sweet frosting, but boy does this beat 'em! I've made other caramel frostings in the past and they never turned out this way. It's too crunchy even though I added more liquids, and the cupcakes I made wouldn't even hold on to it! Oh well, that's what I get for trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
VERY EASY! Used to drizzle over Southern Praline Pecan Cake from this site. Had to mix in a little extra milk to drizzle better. Looks beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
For the cake recipe I used I had to double this recipe. It was a great turn out. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKI22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Really good. I doubled the recipe and put it on the Fresh Apple Cake III on this site. I used my hand held mixer and beat it while still in the pan I used to boil it. I just poured it on top of the cake while the frosting was stilll quite hot. I didn't let it cool long at all...pretty much boiled it, beat it and poured it. It set up really pretty....and fast. Tasted good. The only person who didn't like it was my son, so gave it a 4 because not everyone loved it. May use it again because I did like it and liked how it looked on the cake. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBACK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This is a nice glaze and looks very smooth if used when warm. I thought it was grainy tasting, the same texture from the brown sugar. not sure how to help that? I put on chocolate cupcakes. Good flavor too. Not outstanding but will definitely make again. My husband didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
WOW! I made this the night before MiL's b-day/T-giving. I iced my German chocolate cake layers and top with it, and it was fantastic! The only changes I made were to toast and add chopped, fresh-picked pecans, and plain old coconut to the end result. Even the pickiest eaters in my family ate it, including the littlest, who has texture issues. Thank you so much for such an elegant and impressive, QUICK dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
THIS RECIPE IS GREAT AND SO EASY TO MAKE NO TIME AT ALL a+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Itta Bena, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States