Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
i used this on a chocolate bunt cake as a glaze. it was sinful. i took the advice of others and lessened the powdered sugar while doubling the other ingredients. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
smells delicious, and this icing will get hard after it cools a bit. SOOOO good for Thanksgiving/Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Good taste, but the texture was a bit chalky. Is there a special technique to prevent this from happening? I had the same problem with my Texas sheet cake frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This worked very well for immediately pouring onto an apple bundt cake (before it had somewhat hardened). I used 2% milk, the amount specified, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This recipe is what I use every time I make a caramel icing. The flavor is amazingly yummy- I only wish it was a little easier to spread so that it would look a little nicer. Overall great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jckelly916
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
This was great! I used this to top the guest cakes at my daughter's first birthday party and it was a hit. It is VERY rich though, so I think the amount used on the picture is a bit much. One batch for me iced 2 9" round cakes with plenty left over. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Easy, delicious recipe. I used cream initially, but had to add a little milk to make it thin enough to spread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
followed the recipe exactly and used it as filling on a butter pecan cake. It was DIVINE!!! The icing did get hard pretty quick, so I microwaved it a few seconds and it was spreadable. It only made enough to fill one layer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley View, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Delicious! I spooned it over chocolate cake while the icing was still warm, and it set up nicely. If you want a frosting that doesn't harden as much, just add more butter. It's the fat in butter than makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. It was very easy to make. I used a little more milk, so it would be more of a glaze on my Applesauce Cake. Everyone has raved about it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States