Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by dinner@5
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
Love this recipe! We are a fan of caramel frostings. I used this on a bundt cake that had chocolate chips and butterscotch chips in it. I drizzled a chocolate ganache over the top of it. I did have to add extra half & half to thin it. Delicious! pic uploaded
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Sweet! I was looking for a glaze\forsting for some cinnamon buns, and this is DELICIOUS. I made it in the microwave (just microwave on high for 1 min instead of boiling!!) and I used evaporated milk. It turned out really great, but I recommend sifting the sugar to avoid any lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This really does taste great, even though it is a little hard to spread because it hardens up so quickly. However, I covered the cake, and refrigerated it, and next day, the frosting was soft and easy to cut. I`ll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Good flavor but was an icing, not frosting, which was fine because I was planning to thin it to drizzle on a bundt cake anyway. No need, it was the perfect consistency as is. Used half & half in place of the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Turns out more like doughnut frosting than traditional icing. Would be great on cinnamon rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Used this to top applesauce cupcakes and they were delicious. I followed the directions exactly and thought that this was going to be more of a spreading frosting than a piping frosting. But it set up great and was very easy to pipe on the cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This was simply superb. I browned the butter like a previous reviewer suggested. Added a bit less than 1 cup of the powdered sugar. I poured it over some banana nut chiffon cake and sprinkled toasted pecans on top. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
YUM! Used on Apple Spice Snack Cake from AR. Does harden quickly, more like thick glaze than frosting, but DEEElicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Williamsport, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
excellent icing! I used rice milk and margarine for a vegan version and this was very tasty and perfect. I drizzled it over the spice cake: moist-tender-spice-cake. it was a big hit at my 11 year old's birthday party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was so good, I used it to top brown sugar brownie, I was a little heavy on the butter and I subbed 2 tbsp sour cream and 1 tbsp french vanilla coffee creamer for the milk (I was out) and it became a beautiful spreading consistancy that did not harden as many have had trouble with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States