Caramel Frosting I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Hubby says it tasted just like his Grandma's caramel frosting....it's a keeper! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe is wonderful. I added a little extra milk to thin it out a tad. I made the Southern Praline cake and drizzled it with this frosting. I receive compliments everytime I make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Sooooo sweet and hardened really fast and was very thick. Maybe I am losing some of my sweet tooth in my old age.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
This frosting is perfect and easy to make. I frosted 3 layers of a french vanilla cake mix, then I poured a melted chocolate chip and cream mixture over the top. I think I may have over did it because the cake was way too sweet. I will definately make this frosting again but next time I will frost a sponge cake and servr it with whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Mmmmmm....very rich, but very delicious! This is the kind of frosting that makes you enjoy a smaller slice of cake because of its richness. I used half and half for the liquid and didn't measure it out...just stirred it in until it looked thick and creamy. I also added a pinch of salt to balance out the sweetness. I iced my french vanilla banana muffins (will post recipe on this site shortly) with this frosting and it turned out to be the perfect combo! Thanks for a great, basic caramel frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Yummy! I put it on a chocolate chip bundt cake I made for a birthday cake. This frosting recipe is easy and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
Was OK... Wasn't thrilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Atkinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This icing is awesome and so easy to make. I put it on a chocolate cake and it was great. I will next try it on a prune cake recipe. My Grandmother always made me a prune cake with caramel icing for my birthday. This tastes very much like what she made. Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
This recipe was wonderful on a banana bundt cake. It does set up fast, so I poured it straight onto the warm cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
USING A CINNAMON SWIRL CAKE MIX, I MADE UP 24 CUPCAKES AND NEEDED A FROSTING THAT WOULD HARDEN ( GOOD FOR BOXING ,TRAVEL). THIS WAS PERFECT....FAST AND EASY...I DID HAVE TO ADD A LITTLE MORE MILK (I USED HALF AND HALF)FOR THE LAST FEW CUPCAKES , BUT THEY WERE READY WITHIN MINUTES TO BE BOXED UP. NEXT I AM GOING TO TRY THIS RECIPE WITH GRANULATED SUGAR IN PLACE OF THE BROWN AND USE A DIFFERENT EXTRACT (ORANGE , LEMON, PEPPERMINT,ETC.) AND SEE HOW THAT WORKS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States