Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made this for company and it was a huge hit. I did make a few minor changes. I was out of almond extract so just used vanilla extract in its place. I also sprinkled the apples with cinnamon (approx. 1 1/2 tsp) and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the egg mixture. I added 2 extra eggs and dipped the bread before layering it and poured the extra egg mixture on top. It was perfect. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is a delicious recipe! I added a little more apple to make it pretty and just put one layer of bread instead of two but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. To me it is perfect. The bread was a little crunchy on top but sweet and moist on bottom - perfect. You can easily flip it over onto a plate when it's done to show the apples and nuts and make it beautiful, or just flip each portion out onto the plate when you serve. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe a week ago to test it before serving it to friends. We liked it, but it needed a few small changes for New Years Day brunch. The first time round there wasn't enough wet ingredients for the top layer of bread, which ended up dry and crunchy. For my guests I added two additional eggs, sprinkled a little nutmeg between the layers of bread, and some on top too. Most importantly, I dipped the bread in the egg mixture before adding it to the casserole dish, to be sure the top layer was not dried out. It came out perfect - moist, tasty, and beautiful. Our guests raved about the food, and everyone went for seconds - the most sincere food compliment I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Was so afraid this would be eggy or mushy but that wasn't the case finally found a recipe that turned out delish I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYB325

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this for Christmas morning exactly per the recipe without any alterations and it was delicious! The caramel didn't get hard as some reviewers mentioned. It was perfect and gooey. Will become a Christmas breakfast tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Old Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
We love this!!!!We do not like nuts so I double the apples and I chop them and I buy baguettes and chop them into cubes. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Yummy!Vanished in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a special treat every once in awhile. If you don't wait the hour the top gets crunchy which is a nice contrast to the rest. It's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Excellent. Made the night before (took 10 mins). My french bread was extra thick so I added 8 eggs, keeping the milk the same. Crushed pecans made this awesome. Next time I will double the sauce. Great recipe; thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I liked this recipe. I used more apples and didn`t use pecan. Next time I will probably add spices (cinnamon, nutmeg) to the apples or syrup. This is a good and interesting breakfast recipe. Definitely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States