Caramel French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I'm glad that I added this to our Easter Brunch. I kept the nuts off because kids don't always like them. I used one apple and pared off thin slices with the potato peeler to cover the entire bottom of the pan. After putting everything in the pan and topping with the egg mixture I thought it looked a bit dry (my eggs may have been a bit small), so I poured a bit of cream over the top of the dry areas. I may add 1/2 tsp of cinnamon to the egg mixture next time, but it was delicious as written. Thank you for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CYNDY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
Made this for company and it was a huge hit. I did make a few minor changes. I was out of almond extract so just used vanilla extract in its place. I also sprinkled the apples with cinnamon (approx. 1 1/2 tsp) and added 1 tsp cinnamon to the egg mixture. I added 2 extra eggs and dipped the bread before layering it and poured the extra egg mixture on top. It was perfect. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This is a delicious recipe! I added a little more apple to make it pretty and just put one layer of bread instead of two but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. To me it is perfect. The bread was a little crunchy on top but sweet and moist on bottom - perfect. You can easily flip it over onto a plate when it's done to show the apples and nuts and make it beautiful, or just flip each portion out onto the plate when you serve. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I followed the recipe a week ago to test it before serving it to friends. We liked it, but it needed a few small changes for New Years Day brunch. The first time round there wasn't enough wet ingredients for the top layer of bread, which ended up dry and crunchy. For my guests I added two additional eggs, sprinkled a little nutmeg between the layers of bread, and some on top too. Most importantly, I dipped the bread in the egg mixture before adding it to the casserole dish, to be sure the top layer was not dried out. It came out perfect - moist, tasty, and beautiful. Our guests raved about the food, and everyone went for seconds - the most sincere food compliment I know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Was so afraid this would be eggy or mushy but that wasn't the case finally found a recipe that turned out delish I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYB325

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made this for Christmas morning exactly per the recipe without any alterations and it was delicious! The caramel didn't get hard as some reviewers mentioned. It was perfect and gooey. Will become a Christmas breakfast tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Old Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
We love this!!!!We do not like nuts so I double the apples and I chop them and I buy baguettes and chop them into cubes. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Yummy!Vanished in a flash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This is a special treat every once in awhile. If you don't wait the hour the top gets crunchy which is a nice contrast to the rest. It's great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kabee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Excellent. Made the night before (took 10 mins). My french bread was extra thick so I added 8 eggs, keeping the milk the same. Crushed pecans made this awesome. Next time I will double the sauce. Great recipe; thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States