Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
This is a wonderful recipe that I have made several times in the last couple of months. My Dad and my boyfriend are both flan lovers, and both think this is a great recipe. Whenever I have dinner with my parents, I take two flans to their house, one for dessert and one just for Dad! I did try increasing the sugar to one cup, and the caramel stuck to the pan, so I will probably stick with the 3/4 cup. Thank you for the tip about not stirring the sugar. I was dying to stir it the first time, but didn't. My second attempt, I stirred it, and it got icky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
I must not have done this right, but it was not good. I followed the recipe exactly, but the caramel was really runny and liquidy. It never set, and I baked for about 90 minutes! The taste wasn't too bad, a little too eggy for me. The texture was terrible, though! Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
This flan is AWESOME!!! I used 1 cup of sugar as another member suggested, and it turned out perfect!!!! This flan is just like my mom's, and I would definitely make it again!!!!! Maybe I'll even make it for her!!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This flan came out PERFECT! The only alteration I made was increasing the sugar to 1 cup. [As a side note to those of you who have never made caramel before: You should only stir the sugar occasionally. Constantly stirring will cause the sugar to crystalize.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BugNBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Very nice flan, very smooth and creamy. I got a lot of compliments when I served it at a party. It was so easy to make, too! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
Lovely. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
After serving a spicy mexican-style dinner, this was the perfect, simple, creamy dessert. The only tough part is browning the sugar, but definitely worth the effort. My picky teenager requested the flan again right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I love flan and this tastes like the real thing. This recipe's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This is the first time I've ever made flan from scratch and it tastes exactly like the first time I had it at a restaurant! One hint... do NOT stir the sugar when it's caramelizing (sp?). It will be VERY clumpy! Make sure the pan you're baking it in is already in the hot water before putting ANYTHING into the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-29 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States