Caramel Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I felt so hesitant to make this but I am SO GLAD. USE MILK INSTEAD OF WATER THOUGH! Creamier and more flavor! I did mess up on the caramel part several times until I realized that you have to stir it (unlike others have said) or else it doesn't work. Also, if it dries fast and starts to crack that's normal don't worry it will turn into liquid again when baked. Also, I used 1 cup of sugar. I had to bake mine for longer. My parents were super impressed and said it was just like they'd had at restaurants. My mom said it was the "BEST DESSERT EVER!". I had never had flan before so I don't know how to compare but I love custard so I decided to try it. I really like this and will probably make it a lot and it's so easy! This is great stuff! It seems so fancy and impressive yet it's easier than chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soul-Sauce
Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I made this this morning for Beltine. It is so good. It turned out the way it should have. I followed the recipe to the T. I did follow the advice of another and did not stir the sugar. While sugar was cooking I put the rest of the ingredients in my blender and mixed it that way after the sugar finshed and was in my deep dish pie plate. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Creme caramel has always been my favorite dessert, and this is a lovely, simple version of it! My man said it was the best dessert that I make (and I make a lot!) and that he'd request it as the dessert to his last meal if he were on death-row, haha. Tip 1: To prevent a hardened mass of sugar, add 1/2 teaspoon of lime juice, 1/2 teaspoon of water, and 1/2 teaspoon of light corn syrup (Alton Brown says so!). Tip 2: Rather than stir, swirl the pan gently as the sugar turns amber. Resist the temptation to remove the pan too quickly because the only thing worse than burnt caramel is that sickly, not-quite-there caramel that is the hallmark of the chicken in the kitchen! I mean, come on, if you accidentally go too long, you'll smell it (which SHOULD prevent you from actually using it and serving it like another commenter on here). And you can simply fill the pot with hot water, wash it out and start again. Tip 3: For the "Bain Marie" or water bath, line a roasting pan with a dish cloth. Place the flan on top, place in the oven, and then pour piping hot water half way up the sides of the flan dish. Tip 4: My flans used to turn out "bubbly" for lack of a better word. I have since discovered that I was overcooking them. It's scary to remove it from the oven when it still seems so jiggly, but trust me, it'll be okay. Insert a nice near the center...if it comes out clean, it's fine, no matter how "wet" it looks. Chill for 4 hours or more for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Great for being so fast to make. I think the hardest part is making the Carmel. I followed everyone's suggestions to not stir it. It's funny how hard that can be. The only thing was I was hoping it would be a little more creamy. I would DEFINATELY make this again. I would think that it can only get better with practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy2fgx2
Home Town: Castaic, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I've never really had flan enough to know if I made this recipe right. It was very...wet. And I let it in for about another 20 minutes because it still wasn't done when the time went up. The flavor was very good, but the texture was not. Definitely a chef error though, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
First of all, I threw out the first batch of sugar as I stirred it. Secondly, according to the description, serve warm, I flipped it out of the dish before it had completely cooled and it fell apart. I guess that was my fault. I should have chilled it overnight so where does the "serve warm" come in. I used 1 cup of sugar as someone suggested. I might go back to the 3/4 cup if I make it again. I thought it tasted pretty good. My sugar got to the amber colored stage, maybe a little bitter, but since it was so sweet, I guess it was ok that way. I will try it again but will chill it the next time. My husand said on a scale of 1-10, he'd give it a five. I would try it again but would be more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Fantastic, so easy and so good. As other reviews have said, agreed don't stir sugar only swirl it as it melts, spoon will get yuckie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I have been looking for a while for a good flan recipe and this one fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This was a first attempt and it turned out fabulous. I took the advice of not stirring to carmelize and had no problems. I used a small pyrex bowl and set it in a large oven safe bowl so that the water completely covered the custard bowl to bake. Not quite as firm as the restaraunt but he flavor was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This recipe was great, and very simple. It's very good traditional flan. I baked them in individual dishes instead of the 9 inch round, and it made about 8 ramekins. I needed about 1/4 cup extra sugar to carmelize in order to make all 8. Because they were in the small dishes the cooking time was cut by about 15 min. It was very good with only 2-3 hours in the refrigerator, but next day was much better. Next time I will probably add a couple more eggs, because I like it just a little creamier. I will definitely make this recipe many more times. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States