Caramel Filled Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These are great, everyone loves them! I used riesen caramel candies, they didn't look like caramel filled cookies when we bit into them but that doesn't matter because they taste so delicious. The dough is very soft, and it's good that the directions say to keep it in the fridge as you work with a quarter of the dough at a time! But they're well worth the work. I didn't add walnuts to the dough, just to the top with the sugar. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
You really need to use a soft chew caramel in these otherwise the caramels harden too much. They weren't on the novice side either. You need to make sure you have enough dough around the caramels otherwise they leak out and burn the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I love this recipe! I, like other reviews suggested, added 1/4-1/2 cup more of cocoa powder. I used dove chocolate candies which turned out amazingly and were easy to fold the cookie dough around. I didn't really need to chill the dough, though it did make it a little more moldable but with the extra cocoa it's not quite as sticky. Do not over bake these cookies! 8 minutes is perfect and at 7 minutes I removed them, sprinkled just sugar on top instead of using the walnut sugar mix, and put them back in for another minute. They were fun to make and they are a new household favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I only used 2 ¼ cups of flour that this recipe calls for and upped the cocoa by ¼ cup for a deeper chocolate flavor. I subbed toasted pecans for walnuts (toasting makes such a difference!) and added ½ t. salt as others have suggested. I used Rolos, which I had refrigerated; and during the unwrapping of the Rolos, I put the dough in the fridge. I baked them for 8:30 minutes exactly and they were perfect. Remember to NOT take them off of the cookie sheet too soon. I made this mistake and the caramel seeped through the cooling rack on ½ of my first batch. I ended up with 42 cookies, which I did drizzle with the vanilla coating. Even though I like the cookie better with the modifications I made, it's still a 5-star cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZACHS_MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
this is on FABULOUS cookie! I tried using rolos, riesens, dove, and milky way "simply caramel". The milky ways were far and away the best to use. Good amount of caramel, and didn't get too hard after cooling. After I got the timing right for removing the cookies from the oven, they were perfect. Not under cooked,not hard, and didn't ooze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
These disappeared quickly at home and at work. Didn't change a thing and they were simply delicious!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinacook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muir, Michigan, USA
Living In: Westphalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These were delicious. The only change I made was to use pecans instead of walnuts. These will be a Christmas cookie standard for me. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna McNabb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Sanilac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I did not find these to be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
made this recipe years ago and could not stop making it with success! there was one exception...this recipe was a disaster with butter, my old recipe called for margarine and it made a big difference in the success of the recipe. use of margarine makes a difference,same proportions for everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
these cookies were awesome, this was my first time making cookies and it worked out well, the hardest part was deviding the dough into 48 pieces. but they are great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States