Caramel Filled Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This a great recipe although a little messy and sticky as many have identified. To help with that I kept my fingers floured and chilled the batter and candy in the freezer. I used caramel Hershey's kisses which are really good. Next time I think I'll try milky way simply caramels and also drizzle caramel on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
These are really good and I'm fairly certain the kids will enjoy them (I sure did). Have only had warm, so not sure how caramel will be when eaten cold. Halved recipe and made as instructed with only exceptions being to add 1/4 tsp salt and using coffee extract instead of vanilla. Came out with exactly 24 cookies, none of which leaked. Dough is quite sticky but dusting fingers and palm with cocoa powder took care of that. My cookies stayed pretty much as placed on the sheet - didn't spread out - and as I used Rolo candies that had a nice puffy exterior with the creamy melted chocolate interior. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious! I omitted the walnuts because I don't care for them, and the recipe turned out great. You definitely need to keep the batter refrigerated or it becomes impossible to work with. I used a 1-inch cookie scoop, pressed a Rolo in the middle, then covered the bottom. It made the perfect size cookie and kept my hands (reasonably) clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I will make these again, for sure. I used mini Rolos so I didn't get too much of the caramel flavor I was looking for. Per others recommendations, I also added some extra cocoa and white sugar. I did grind some sea salt on top of the cookies as they came out of the oven too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Good cookies but with about half of the cookies the caramel ran out of the cookie onto the baking sheet. Not sure if there is a way to prevent this. Would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were not hard to make and were yummy. I used the caramel hershey kisses. I'd say about 1 out of every 6 cookies burst while baking, but I just shoved the caramel back towards the cookie with my spatula and let them dry like that. I used for Christmas cookie tray platters, and they were a bit sticky and gooey for that but they taste great so who cares!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Really liked this cookie. I think they would have been much better if I used the nuts that are called for, but we have a family member with nut allergies. These turned out very good anyways. Used Rolos, as they are nut free and it made a nice gooy caramel cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This recipe is REALLY good. Perhaps one of my all time favorite cookies ever! I had not made it for several years and my husband requested them, so I made them - and added a twist!! First off I wlll say that I added 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I learned that if you don't put enough dough around the rolo, it WILL explode - I had a whole pan of exploded ones because I was being skimpy with the dough....so of course, I ran out of rolos and had dough left. I remembered that I had some left over mini candbars from halloween - you know - the bite sized ones. We made cookies with butterfinger, snickers, milky way, baby ruth and 3 muskateers in them AMAZING!!!!! I think my favorite is still the rolos, but man....those butterfinger cookies were pretty great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I used the chocolate cookie as a base to make drop cookies. They turned out wonderful. Light, delicate, soft, and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These are great, everyone loves them! I used riesen caramel candies, they didn't look like caramel filled cookies when we bit into them but that doesn't matter because they taste so delicious. The dough is very soft, and it's good that the directions say to keep it in the fridge as you work with a quarter of the dough at a time! But they're well worth the work. I didn't add walnuts to the dough, just to the top with the sugar. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Chocolate Mint Cookies I

This rich cookie is crowned with delicious chocolate-mint "frosting."

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States