Caramel Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I've been making these for years and I lightly grease the tassie pans before putting the dough in and shaping it. They come out very easily when done and left to sit for 10 - 15 minutes to cool for handling; I've never had them break on me. Also, after putting the icing on (which I pipe using a pastry bag), I sprinkle chopped nuts on them. I've always gotten requests for the recipe or to make them again for employee potlucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
TOO GOOEY IN THE MIDDLE. JUST NOT WORTH THE WORK. BUT THANK YOU ANYWAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
I can't believe the amount of bad reviews for this cookie. My daughter and I have made them for years and get requests for them a lot. Yes, they do take a little time to make, but they are worth it. In order to get the best flavor, bite into a portion that contains all three parts of the cookie. We really love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this recipe twice, the first time as written and the second time using a shortbread crust and no frosting. The shortbread crust was much better. I will continue to use the filling, skip the frosting, and use the shortbread crust from now on. I was glad to find the filling recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I am not a very good cook and have a 6 month old baby who doesn't let me do anything, so quick easy recipes are a must in my house. While this was not anywhere near as quick as it says above, it was incredibly easy to put down and pick up again between running around after my little one. They taste awesome and look adorable. Only problem I had was that I ended up only being able to use 70% of the shells because they kept breaking on me. Take it real slow when you take them out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was making these for my friend Tania who loves caramel. I won't be sharing these because I did not care for this recipe. READ the recipe: the "crust' is cream cheese, flour and butter... no sugar (made me doubtful...and I was right). The crust is tasteless. Its not flaky, its crumby and crumbling. This might be better with a traditional pie crust. The filling is caramel and evaporated milk - cant argue there, its good. But the worst part... is the frosting. I have NO problem with fatty or shortening buttercream and what not. But I did not care for this icing. Again, look at the recipe - its only half a cup of sugar with a cup of shortening. A traditional buttercream would have a shortening to sugar ratio of 1 to 4 ... not 2 to1. The icing is tasteless and greasy. I dumped an extra cup of sugar in it, and it still just tasted like shortening with a gross oily mouth feel. I'm an experienced baker - I did not care for this recipe. Sorry Tania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
ADDICTING, albeit a pain to make. I've been asked to make for a wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These can also be made with the Athens phyllo dough or PepperRidge Farm's Puff Pastry rolled thinner in confestioners sugar so as not to puff close the filling hole. Cut both with a Pizza Cutter Roller or although maybe you can use the Athens shells, which may result in a slightly bigger cookie if so just bake accordingly and enjoy! The ICING or any icing made with granulated sugar with a liquid & Crisco. The sugar should be added to warmed milk (liquid) so it dissolves & then left to cool before adding the other ingredients or visa verse, this prevents the icing from becoming "GRITTY"! If you don't like this ICING, you could USE YOUR FAVORITE, but any ICING should really be piped on with a pastry bag or corner of a baggy making for a prettier cookie! You can make these Even More Festive & Delicious by Sprinkling with your choice of finely chopped or ground nuts, colored sugar, candy decorator sprinkles or a little grated chocolate. I worked with a guy whose Wife made these put them on his cookie tray to bring to work, it was the first time I ever had them and I was wowed! I wasn't the only one, they were the first to go & she had quite a variety of Christmas Cookies & lots of them on his tray! They have been on my tray ever since! A little Bit of Work (a lot less using Athens Phyllo [Fillo] or the PepperRidge Farm's Puff Pastry - rolled thin or your cup will close but well worth your EFFORT! Happy Holidays to All and to All Happy Holiday Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4girlzmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Asolutely LOVE these... they barely lasted the day that I made them... And for those that don't like the frosting, it really does add a little something to the cookie, just make sure you don't just bite into the frosting alone, it really has no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States