Caramel Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Delicious!! A hit at all of my holiday parties. I'll be careful next time not to fill the cups completely with the caramel mixture... leave some room for the frosting or else they'll leak all over the place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I was making these for my friend Tania who loves caramel. I won't be sharing these because I did not care for this recipe. READ the recipe: the "crust' is cream cheese, flour and butter... no sugar (made me doubtful...and I was right). The crust is tasteless. Its not flaky, its crumby and crumbling. This might be better with a traditional pie crust. The filling is caramel and evaporated milk - cant argue there, its good. But the worst part... is the frosting. I have NO problem with fatty or shortening buttercream and what not. But I did not care for this icing. Again, look at the recipe - its only half a cup of sugar with a cup of shortening. A traditional buttercream would have a shortening to sugar ratio of 1 to 4 ... not 2 to1. The icing is tasteless and greasy. I dumped an extra cup of sugar in it, and it still just tasted like shortening with a gross oily mouth feel. I'm an experienced baker - I did not care for this recipe. Sorry Tania.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These are fantastic. I have made these and eveyone loves the. You have to press the dough high and over the edge a little to get enough space. A little caramel to fill the dip is fine. The frosting when whipped up completes the taste. If it is too fatty - just eat one but it completes the cookie and is better as a whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
These can also be made with the Athens phyllo dough or PepperRidge Farm's Puff Pastry rolled thinner in confestioners sugar so as not to puff close the filling hole. Cut both with a Pizza Cutter Roller or although maybe you can use the Athens shells, which may result in a slightly bigger cookie if so just bake accordingly and enjoy! The ICING or any icing made with granulated sugar with a liquid & Crisco. The sugar should be added to warmed milk (liquid) so it dissolves & then left to cool before adding the other ingredients or visa verse, this prevents the icing from becoming "GRITTY"! If you don't like this ICING, you could USE YOUR FAVORITE, but any ICING should really be piped on with a pastry bag or corner of a baggy making for a prettier cookie! You can make these Even More Festive & Delicious by Sprinkling with your choice of finely chopped or ground nuts, colored sugar, candy decorator sprinkles or a little grated chocolate. I worked with a guy whose Wife made these put them on his cookie tray to bring to work, it was the first time I ever had them and I was wowed! I wasn't the only one, they were the first to go & she had quite a variety of Christmas Cookies & lots of them on his tray! They have been on my tray ever since! A little Bit of Work (a lot less using Athens Phyllo [Fillo] or the PepperRidge Farm's Puff Pastry - rolled thin or your cup will close but well worth your EFFORT! Happy Holidays to All and to All Happy Holiday Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4girlzmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These were pleasant however I did not ice them. I just could not bring myself to make an icing that called for a cup of lard (disgusting)As it turned out they were just fine without the icing. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I have one word to describe these...AWESOME. They are easy to make and delicious to eat. Just be careful taking them out of the pans because they are very fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERRIYES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
These were wonderful! They were gone before all the other cookies we made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENIESE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Oh My!!! AWESOME!! A bit of work, but SOOOOOOOO worth it!!!! I first had Caramel Cups a few yrs back at work, my boss brought them in, she was stingy and would not give recipe. This was it!! Thanks so very much for sharing!! Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
ADDICTING, albeit a pain to make. I've been asked to make for a wedding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are okay. I am not a big fan of the tart crusts. They just tasted a bit blah and greasy. I have made something similar in the past with a shortbread-type crust and it was much yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCYNA77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States