Caramel Crispy Treats II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
WOW! A nice variation of the rice krispie treat. Milky Way bars are VERY hard to find here in Canada (especially in a small east coast town). With a little help from my sister (who lives in the US) we discovered that Mars Bars are the equivalent to the US Milky Way bars. You need to use "king size" Mars Bars or 6 of the regular size. Happy baking! You'll be sure to love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2003
I tried these with three different kinds of candy bars - Milky Way, Snickers and Baby Ruth. I like the peanuts from the last two candy bars, but they do not melt as well as the Milky Way. The mixture becomes more liquified instead of thick and rich. They also need to be refrigerated longer. I like the topping on them because I don't think they look finished without it. Quick and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
I love this recipe! I am on Weight Watvhers and without the chocolate on top, it is an awesome 1 POINT!!!! Great for a chocolate craving and still low fat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Not sure if anyone else has mentioned this, but this is a really common treat in Australia - they call it Mars Bar Slice. Instead of chocolate chips, using Cadbury milk chocolate bars is much better topping (nicer consistency and taste). I also prefer to serve these at room temperature so they aren't so hard. Very sweet, but like a giant candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
These were good, not bad, not great...good. If I do make them again, I may skip the chocolate on top. I'm just not sure why they didn't go over well, I can't put my finger on it. Thanks Cheryl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This recipe is in a British cookbook from about 10 years ago, except it uses around half the butter used here. Anyway I made the cookbook version on the weekend - very nice although still a little too buttery! Definitely cut down on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Very easy and tastes great!!!I used the holiday coloured rice crispies to give that extra holiday look.Thanks Cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I am addicted to any and all treats with rice crisps and this one is THE best!!!! I couldn't find Milky Way bars in Canada so I used Baby Ruth bars instead. I can't imagine them without the peanuts. I also doubled the recipe to fit a 13X9 inch pan. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
These are pretty tasty, but there is too much butter. This is a good treat for kids, but adults might not like the flavor too much as these bars are extremely sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
These are killer good !! Made them for my son's 6th birthday in school. All my other kids went crazy, not to mention my husband, so I had to double the batch. I don't think I will go back to the "normal " kind again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States