Caramel Crispy Treats II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These did not turn out how I had hoped. The rice crispy part turned out ok, but I had modified that part of the recipie because I didn't buy chocolate nugat bars (I bought chocolate bars with caramel inside). I mixed the bars with the traditional rice crispy recipie with the marshmellows. The topping is what I was dissapointed with. The chocolate was way too thick. I think milk added to the recipe would have made them turn out like in the picture. This also may have been due to using generic chocolate chips, though. They still tasted ok though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, using Milky Way candy bars. I couldn't get the candy bars and butter to mix together while melting. I finally used my hand mixer. The recipe says to use a 7X11 pan and cut into 32 pieces, which yields a serving size of 1.375 x 1.75. (This is was important to me because of the carb count.) The chocolate topping was too thick. Topping that thick should be actual frosting, or much thinner, maybe drizzled (IMHO). Then, for anyone concerned about peanut allergies, don't make these with Milky Way. The label Milky Way label says 'may contain peanuts' not the more general 'made in a facility'. I probably won't make these again given how much everyone likes the traditional recipe anyway, the carb count, and the peanut allergy, but would not discourage anyone else from trying the recipe as those are all very personal reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These are awesome and are a great change from the traditional Rice Krispie bars with the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
As is, this recipe is a four. How can one go wrong with mars bars? However I make a slightly different version, which I find is a five star square. I use 3 mars bars (I buy the four pack and usually end up eating one), about 1.5 cups of minimarshmallows, maybe a little less if I don't have quite enough, 1/4 cup butter. I melt this mix on the stove over low/med heat, stirring constantly, and add 4.5 or 5 cups of rice crispies. If I feel like a richer bar, I use less cereal. If I want to stretch the batch, I use a bit more. After I press the mixture into a pan (8x8 if I want thick bars) I do not put them in the fridge or melt chocolate on the top. The chocolate is unnecessary and I find it takes away from the caramel flavour. I make these squares a lot and they always get eaten. Again, how can one go wrong with mars bars???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This is easy and tastes great. Everyone always asks for the recipe whenever I make these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I really didn't care for these. My husband didn't like them either. Too much chocolate. I thought the Milky Way flavor was out of place with a rice crispy type recipe. I like the plain Rice Crispy Treats, or you could add a layer of milk chocolate on top as is commonly done. This was just too much for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This recipe is in a British cookbook from about 10 years ago, except it uses around half the butter used here. Anyway I made the cookbook version on the weekend - very nice although still a little too buttery! Definitely cut down on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I think these would be a five star if it didn't taste like so much like butter. I will make them again and add less butter to see if makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
The flavor was very rich, but the crispies turned soggy due to so much butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Cotati, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2006
I made these for my nieces and nephews for christmas. It does seem like there is a little too much butter, but I don't think you could reduce it by much. I added a little extra rice crispies. The flavor is very good and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States