Caramel Cream Sandwich Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This cookie is amazing! The only thing I would change next time is to leave out the extra 1/4 cup of flour and I did add a bit of salt to the dough. I thought marblel sized balls would be too small, but they make for a perfect bite sized delight! for the filling I had leftover caramel I made for another recipe so I just used that mixed with icing sugar. I will definitely be making this cookie a new holiday tradition in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
excellent one , really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
The cookie part is 5 stars for sure! Love the flavor and texture. The filling is a bit sweet for us, so I have to make some adjustments to that the next time I make these. Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
This was one of my favorite cookies growing up. It actually is from a Pillsbury Bake off paperback cookbook that my mom had (that I now have) from back in the 50's. There were so many good recipes in that book that we grew up on...this was my favorite in the cookie department!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
The name on these is slightly deceptive. They aren't actually caramel. What you have is a rich, brown sugar cookie with a browned butter frosting. I think the name is old fashioned; before browned butter became "cool" they just chose a name that reflected the flavor rather than the texture (again, there is no caramel texture here). I would definitely call these "Browned Butter sandwich cookies" now... cooler and more accurate! All that said, these are delicious. I make the cookies much larger (more like a walnut than a marble) and flatten them to more like 1/4 inch. Then I double the frosting! They come out chewy that way. Rich, but awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I personally didn't like these very much so I sent my husband to take them to the after school program at school where everyone loved them. I 'll give them the recipe so they can make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
My 80 year old mother has made these cookies for as long as I can remember. Haven't met anyone who doesn't love them! They are requested often by her kids who come to visit from out of town (grandkids too!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I did a 1½ size batch (1½ cups margarine, around 1-1/4 cups brown sugar, 1 egg yolk and half the egg white, 3-1/4 cups flour). I chilled the dough for about 20 minutes, then made the cookies... I got a total of 116 cookies (58 sandwiches) out of the batch. Instead of using my palm and a fork, I dipped the bottom of a smallish glass in sugar and pressed the cookies down so they all ended up close to the same size. Instead of the caramel cream, I used a peanut butter cream filling (½ cup PB, 1½ cups or so of icing sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla, and 4 or 5 TBS of milk). Very fabulous, and next time I'll try the caramel cream! Thanks for sharing, Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I was expecting a caramel-rich gooiness somewhere, but was disappoointed. I found melting some caramels and spooning it over the cookies more satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Good flavor. I didn't make sandwich style cookies, it would have been too much cookie. I frosted them and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States