Caramel Cream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
Yummy frosting, I could have eaten the whole bowl. I did what others suggested and caramelized the sugar while the rest of the ingredients were starting to boil. I whipped and whipped and it stayed a little runny so I let it sit about 15 minutes and tried again. This time, after it cooled to room temperature I was able to whip it to spread consistency. Came out great! Don't give up too soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I found this recipe to be so good .I made it just as the recipe stated except I carmelized the first amount of sugar at the same time as I cooked the other mixture .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is more of a glaze than a frosting. I love drizzling it over the top of the Amazing Apple Cake (recipe on this site). The taste of this reminds me of caramel chews, which is good because I always loved them. However, this doesn't taste very creamy. Also, it was my first time dealing with dissolved sugar. I had such a difficult time getting the spoon unstuck from the bottom of the pan after transferring it to the mixture. Lesson learned, I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It melted my pans and, it was like sauce. It did not turn out thick. When it melted the pan and we poured it out it turned very hard. So what I had to do was put cream cheese frosing in it. Now that was GREAT!!!! I would not use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Flavour is very good and I would make again just for that. One cooking problem: I followed reviewers' suggestions to caramelize the sugar WHILE boiling the sugar/cream/butter. So I poured in the hot liquid caramelized sugar and it hardened into clumps IN the boiling liquid. The frosting turned out fine (I just picked out the lumps).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
What's not to like? Butter, cream!! In case anyone else has the same question I did, I found the mixture should be beaten right away not allowed to cool first. This frosting is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I didnt like the taste too much, but it was alright. As someone else said, dont cook the sugar first because it will harden pretty much instantly and be stuck once it cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess51725

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
This recipe was a little hard to follow and you really shouldn't set melted sugar "aside," as it will solidify inside whatever you put it in. The frosting however tasted awesome, I would just suggest that you melt the sugar while you're making the second mixture, and add it in as soon as the sugar dissolves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HELLODJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This frosting is incredibly delicious! It really has a TRUE caramel flavor. It was time consuming, and a little tricky to get to the right consistancy, due to my substituting half and half instead of the heavy cream. If you do that, allow for extra boil time to reduce the moisture level. This frosting has the texture of a thick glaze, so bear this in mind when spreading it. It's not going to look like butter cream on your cake. It will, however, be the most delicious stuff you've ever put on a cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States