Caramel Corn IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
After our Halloween party, everybody wanted a snack. I tried this b/c this is what we had in the house. Incredible!! Best and Easiest carmel corn ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
We too doubled the sauce. It was so easy! We put the oven on 275 and stirred every 5 minutes for a total of 15, and it was perfect for our Halloween party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carcinojen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eastlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Euclid, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mary8810002
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was so Delicious! I meant to take a photo and post it but I ate the entire bowl within an hour! I made some changes, I wanted to make this with whole foods plus whatever i found in my cabinet so this is what I did: 1) Used organic maple syrup instead of corn syrup 2) Used raw brown sugar for the brown sugar 3) used sea salt instead of regular salt 4) Used Extra Virgin Olive oil instead of butter 5) Used an air popper for the popcorn, this is quicker and the popcorn was able to pop easily. 6) I had kept it in the oven for only 20 minutes. It smelled so good I had to attack it! Unfortunately I had to use imitation vanilla extract but i used a lot of it, Like i wasnt even measuring it! With the cooking I used a teflon covered stainless steel pan so there was no mess by the time I was finished. I also saw some complaints about the mess in the pan so I used a disposable aluminum pan. While boiling the mixture I did not measure well and i added a lot of maple syrup. I got nervous because I thought it was burning so I added water to the sugar mixture. It came out pretty grainy and a bit watery but I added vanilla and baking soda and it tasted wonderful. I poured it over the popcorn and kept stirring it every five to ten minutes in the oven. It smelled so good! You have to let it sit though when its finish so that it could get nice and crispy. I intend to make this into a Christmas gift it was that good, and usually I am very shy about sharing my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary8810002

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: North Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I just made this for a Halloween party, and it seems like the perfect fall treat. I popped the popcorn while the caramel was cooking to make sure it stayed hot, which let me combine the two quickly once the caramel was ready. I agree that 1 cup of unpopped corn is way too much for this recipe. I used a half cup, tops, and ended up needing to make another 1/3 batch of caramel to cover the remains. Other than that, I set the over a little lower than 300, stirred more frequently that 10 minutes to coat the corn better, and everything turned out great. A nice, quick snack to bring places with things that are probably already in the cupboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is our favorite movie treat and I make it often when we are going to someone else's house for a casual evening. Only changes I make is I bake it only for about 10-15 minutes, stirring often. Also keep a close eye on the boiling mixture to prevent burning. So good, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I love this one! This is the perfect amount of caramel for 1 bag of microwave popcorn. I did not have a bowl big enough to stir this in so I sprayed my punch bowl with butter flovored non-stick spray, and lined a roaster pan with parchment paper for cooking. Every thing turned out perfect and clean up was extra easy. The butter spray gave only the tiniest hint of buttery flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I read the reviews and took some advice from a couple of the other reviews. First off, this is a yummy recipe and very easy to make. It does not have a "burned" flavor, but a rich dark caramel flavor (very similar to the original Cracker Jacks). Do not cook the caramel 1 second over the 5 minute mark from when it starts to boil. I set the oven at 275 degrees and stirred it every 5 minutes for 20 minutes. It came out perfect! It would be fabulous with nuts added or drizzled with melted chocolate. I will be keeping this recipe and making it into Christmas gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Thanks to Dany Riopelle my carmel corn turned out GREAT! I wondered if nuts would be good in it. Will try that next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was the second or third recipe I tried, and was I surprised...the finished product really is just like Cracker Jack! Tips from others helped a lot, plus I have a few of my own: 1), I pre-heated the oven to 275° F/135° C; 2), I made the caramel sauce first, cooking it over medium heat, then keeping it over low heat while making the popcorn; 3), I found 1/2 cup of unpopped popcorn to be a better proportion for the amount of caramel sauce given; 4), I used an air-popper, which meant no oil, so the caramel coating stuck better; 5), after removing all the unpopped kernels, I put the popped corn on the largest baking sheet I have to distribute it as flat(ly) as possible over as large an area as possible before pouring the sauce over it and combining the popcorn and sauce as thoroughly as possible; 6), I baked the mixture for 15 minutes, stirring it every 5 minutes; 7), after placing the finished caramel corn in a large bowl, I let it cool for 5-10 minutes, then used my hands to break the mixture into smaller pieces...after a few more minutes, I did it again; 8), as for clean-up, I used plain water on the baking sheet (my sauce pan was non-stick) and left it alone to soak for about a half hour--most of the caramel came right off...for the little bit that remained, I used more water and let the baking sheet soak some more, and with patience and minimal elbow grease, the clean-up was really easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I have been getting advertisements from a place that sells flavored popcorn, but it is so expensive. I decided I could make it a lot cheaper. I used two microwave popcorn bags and doubled the sauce. I added peanuts. I cooked it at 250 for 30 minutes stirring about every 5 minutes. There was not problem with burning. The only thing I wish I had done better was to get those darn little unpopped kernels out. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States