Caramel Corn IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by tstandr
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made this again for a friend's engagement party this weekend and it was a big hit with the crowd! It disappeared quickly. I used 2 bags of light butter microwave popcorn. I was able to whip it together about two hours before the party and it was perfect. Be sure to stir every 10 minutes as recommended so the sugar coating doesn't burn on top. I stirred the first time at 15 minutes, which was ok, but when I checked again after another 10 min it was ready to be turned. I baked it for a total of 30 minutes and stirred it at 15, 10 and 5 min. I would definitely recommend this recipe and will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tstandr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murphys, California, USA
Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed making this. i made it when i went out with frinds and they all loved it.-kitty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
Great tasting caramel corn....BUT...do not put it in the oven at the end. Very unnecessary step which causes quick burning. I also added 1 Tbs of molasses to the butter/sugar/salt mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buzzi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was pretty easy and very tasty except for a slight burnt taste. I may make this one again and try lower the temp or I may just try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I have made this at Christmas a few times now, the taste is great, but recipe needs some changes... cut popcorn to 1/2 cup unpopped. increase brown sugar to 1 cup, increase butter to 8 tablespoons (1 stick) increase light corn syrup to 4 tablespoons. increase salt, baking soda and vanilla by a dash each. A 2 qt pan worked great for making the caramel. A very large disposable aluminum roasting pan will handle the oven duties. you will get much better caramel coverage, and it is a lot easier to work with by making these changes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I've tried several caramel corn recipes and this one is the best and easiest one. It's great! One bag of microwave popcorn was the perfect amount. It was a big hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
wonderful! i doubled the recipe after realizing the caramel wouldn't cover all the popcorn. i should have read the reviews first! i did add peanuts, but i'm not sure if it added anything since the popcorn was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This is a great recipe. I did double the sauce since we really like the caramel in my house. I also added some peanuts and mixed nuts for some "surprises" as you eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Man this stuff is good (and addictive!) I agree that you should double the sauce. I didn't have any problem at all with it sticking. I sprayed the pan in which I cooked the caramel, used a rubber spoonula/spatula thing, and used a glass Pyrex to bake the corn. The only thing I sprayed with non-stick spray was the baking dish. Delicious and easy! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I thought this was a good recipe; very crisp and tasty. Because I have a sweet tooth, I used 3/4 cup of corn instead of 1c. I popped it with canola oil. I also noticed a slightly burned, bitter taste some others mentioned. I think I'll bake it at a lower temp or for less time next time I try it. Cleanup was not hard after soaking the pans and spoons in hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States