Caramel Corn IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
This recipe is very easy to make but also easy to mess up (in more ways than one). It takes 3 very large pans,(I used a 5qt. dutch oven, a large saucepan, and a roasting pan), a measuring cup,measuring spoon, a couple of spoons/spatulas to stir, and a very large container with lid to store it in. I had to use a steel wool pad to clean up my saucepan from the caramel sauce. So, be aware, there is quite a bit of clean up. Also, follow the recipe EXACTLY. I was distracted and messed up two batches. pretty badly. One -I let the popcorn sit out too long and it wasn't warm when "I tried to mix in the caramel sauce. Did not mix up at all. It just clumped up in wads of hard caramel;not coating the corn at all. Totally my fault, but it was not forgiving at all. Once I got it right, it was very good but I think I would've preferred a little MORE caramel coating. But, it is pretty cool to make fresh homemade caramel corn, so I will use this recipe again, I am sure. Maybe, for Christmas gifts next Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
perfection! I doubled the sauce, turned the temp down to 275, and used airpoped corn. All in my nonstick turkey roasting pan- Voila! Perfection!My husband has been asking to find a recipe like this for years. His only request was to add peanuts to it. Yum! Will make this to add to my Christmas baskets this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I'm glad I read the reveiws before I made this: my first 2 batches tasted a little burned even though I stirred more often than the recipe suggests. Finally, on the 3rd batch, I turned the oven down to 275 or so and stirred the corn every 5 minutes; in addition, I only left the corn in the oven for a total of 15 minutes. It turned out perfectly! Now that I've had home-made caramel corn I can't stand the store bought stuff! ps: I have an electric oven (ugh!)- it might work differently in a gas one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
This was an awesome recipe. It tastes just like the Cracker Jacks I used to have as a child. I varied the recipe by adding Cashews. Just a note the amount of popping corn called for was REALLY unrealistic. I Used 2 Cups of Popping corn and that worked out really well. Using 4 cups produced WAY to much Popped corn. (After all how would anyone in a common home (and I have 7 in my family) have a baking dish large enough to accomodate THAT much pop corn.?) The recipe itself was amazingly easy and I found it to be consumed in a matter of minutes. We will be making this on many cold winter Alaskan nights. (served while still really warm was an added treat)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
This turned out really good. I doubled the amount of sauce as suggested and it was just right. I used a large roasting pan and a cake pan. Next time, I will use a stock pot. I think it will be easier to stir in a high-sided pan. I stirred every 5 minutes for about 15 minutes. I used Teflon coated bake ware and utensils and had no problems with sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
Very tasty and easy recipe. I used microwave popcorn...one bag seemed to be enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Extremely tasty treat! I used 1 bag of microwave popcorn and the amount of popcorn was perfect. I couldn't see using anymore because it wouldn't get coated. I added peanuts to the caramel before pouring it on the popcorn and it was just fabulous. We couldn't keep our hands out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
One of the problems with the allrecipes culture is that individuals rate recipes with alterations. This recipe is often given 5 stars IF you double the sauce, bake it at a lower temperature, use less corn, use airpopped corn etc. If you follow the recipe, which is poorly written in many respects, the rating is more accurately 1 star. The one large flaw in the recipe is the direction to "boil" the sugar sauce for 5 minutes. Any butter/sugar sauced boiled for that long will scorch; as mine did. The sauce should be brought to a boil then reduced to a simmer for 5 minutes. Also, the recipe says to pour the sauce over the popcorn and then bake. Nowhere does it say to stir THEN bake. This is, of course, obvious to someone who has made carmel corn before, but the lack of precision in the recipe demonstrates, once again, how this recipe, as it stands, is NOT deserving of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
OMG This is the best popcorn ever!! I am 11 and I can make this so easely. Instead of frying the pop corn I used a microve and I only baked it for 19 minutes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
Wish I would have read the reviews before I had a burnt mess on my hands! I used a cake pan and a cookie sheet. The popcorn on the cookie sheet was black and crispy, but only some of the stuff in the cake pan was burnt. I thought the part that wasn't tasted pretty good, but not quite enough caramel to popcorn. With a few modifications, this could be a good recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wonder Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States