Caramel Corn III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
Oaky but I like my recipe better but till quite good. I had to make 3 batches of caramel to coat all the popcorn, (that's why only 3 stars) I also turned the oven up to 300F this seemed to keep the caramel softer so it coated the popcorn better when stired. My recipe has more corn syrup and is just brought to the boil and no baking soda. My daughter works in a popcprn making store and says they too use baking soda but I don't care for how it make the caramel thicken up so fast, I found thios harder to work with. I will make again I likedthe crunch and the family gobbled it all down right to the last kernel. I daught liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is my first time making caramel corn so I was a little scared...but after reading all the comments I ended up using 1 cup of unpopped corn and then I added 5 more servings of the sauce which comes out to: 1-1/3 cp brown sugar 2/3 cp butter 1/3 cp corn syrup 3/4 tsp salt 2 t/s baking soda The recipe turned out awesome! I'll definately make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This is a quick and easy way to make GREAT Carmel Corn. If you use one bag of Microwave Popcorn this is just the right about of carmel, with a little left over to like the bowl. I like the way the baking soda makes it nice a fluffy, YUM YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I lost my recipe that I have been making for years and this one is it - with the exception that I believe (as Izzy said) this is too much baking soda. I believe it should be 1/2 TEAspoon, not tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
right on the money followed it all the way with the exception on the oven temp 200 degrees was not hot enough so i put it on 300 and it was fine. just keep an eye on it and mix it very well and it will coat all the popcorn. nice job rosemary will be using this at christmas time thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
It is so good I wish I had never made it! Now all the kids expect it for all occasions! My daughter had me bring it to her house, 4 states away, for Thanksgiving so her Marine husband and his friends have something to munch for ball games.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountaintown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Excellent!, I did triple the caramel sauce for the amount of popcorn.Had complete coverage of the popcorn. I did not have the problems most of the reviews suggested. Superb taste. Great crunch. Exactly the reciepe I was looking for. Will add to my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I agreed with many reviews about not enough caramel. I added pecans and doubled the sauce, which was perfect. I also baked it in my roasting pan so that I could turn the popcorn without it spilling all over the oven. Lastly, I did bake at 300. Yummy, great to put in a tin and give as a little gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I had also 'lost' my recipe that I had been making since my kids (now ages 39,37 and 35 yrs!!) were home. Now, one was asking for it! As usual, AllRecipies had it! Thank goodness...the only change I would make would be to use an air popper for the corn. I also put mine in a large roaster pan instead of several cookie sheets. Works just fine...mmmm good stuff. You can also add some peanuts for a great immitation of that old, popcorn, peanut snack we all grew up on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Not nearly enough "caramel" to coat the amount of popcorn, even when I only popped 1 cup of popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Kettle Corn

See how to make your own old-fashioned kettle corn from scratch!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States