Caramel Chocolate Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by wmsmom
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This came out perfect. I used the paperbag method with macadamia nuts and air popped popcorn. I followed another reviewers suggestion and immediately put the chocolate mixture in a plastic freezer bag, cut off the tip and was easily able to drizzle the chocolate over the caramel corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Yum Yum Yum!!! I used a different caramel corn recipe because I didn't like how the caramel came out of the microwave, but the cocolate drizze for the top is easy and super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This tastes delicious! It is actually easy to make, and doesn't take that long. I whipped it together in about thirty-ish minutes using microwave popcorn. I also chilled the popcorn in the fridge to cool it quckly. It was a huge hit at our poker night event! Edited to add: I gave the leftovers to our leasing staff and they ate an entire huge bowl of the popcorn! They couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Excellent and very easy to make. Will definitely make this again. I gave these away as Christmas presents and they were impressed. I actually used salted butter which is what I always have in my fridge, so next time I will omit the salt. I'm also a big chocolate lover, so next time I might double the chocolate and shortening, just because. I added more shortening to make it drizzle better, but I think that made it firm up a lot longer than I thought. Like a previous reviewer, I didn't have a big paper bag, so I divided the popcorn into two big bowls and mixed the popcorn in that. I was so glad that I didn't have to bake or use a candy thermometer for this recipe. Oh by the way, I didn't use microwave popcorn, but popped regular popcorn kernals in a small brown paper bag without oil or butter for about 2min 30 sec per 1/4 cup unpopped popcorn. Gotta love the microwave for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
fantastic! I made it exactly as listed in the microwave, except that I didn't have peanuts so I left those out. The only caution I would have is make sure you watch the sugar syrup while it boils so it doesn't overflow. I was amazed that this worked so well, all in the microwave! I will totally be making caramel corn more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Very Yummy indeed! This will be great for Holiday Parties and as a homemade gift to my kids' teachers this year. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds View, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I decided to make this to give to my son's teachers and friends for Christmas this year. Today I did a practice run due to earlier reviews and this is what I did.... I cut the recipe in half (16 servings) and heated the caramel mixture (sugar, butter, corn syrup, vanilla extract & salt) on the stovetop at medium (5) until bubbling in an 8 qt pot...stirred in the baking soda, then stirred in the popcorn and peanuts until covered Then spread out on the table on parchment paper. Heated the chocolate & shortening then drizzled (by melting chocolate and placing in plastic bag with the tip cut) over the mixture. Tastes delicious! And looks scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
the recipe is okay..I initially cut the recipe in half, but in the end, while using 1/2 the popcorn stated, made the entire batch of caramel, and my popcorn still was not coated enough for my taste. However, that may be because the execution of these directions is great---if you want to eat a caramel coated bag!! I ended up dumping the first batch into a bowl, & making a second batch of caramel to add to it. I was very excited to try this in a bag--hey fewer dishes, right?, but it just ended up a bigger mess. If you attempt the bag method, I recommend having someone assist you & hold the bag open/ upright while you dump in the caramel--I ended up with a caramel coated burnt thumb when my bag fell over halfway through the process. I also needed double the "shortening" when melting my chips but that may be due to using dark choc chips & margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
very easy to do and very good!! I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
So easy and delicious - I love this recipe. I just made it with mixed nuts instead of peanuts to make it more gourmet. I double the popcorn so it cuts down on some of the sweetness. I lay it out on wax paper to dry to make clean-up easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States