Caramel Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Perfect! I boiled it to 250 on the dot. They turned out great, chewy but firm enough to wrap easily. Also I used one of those foil cookies sheets that come in sets of 2 and are about $1.20 to pour the caramels into. It made everything simpler, and I didn't have to worry about scratching my pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have to agree with all other comments about heating to 240 degrees. This is the most buttery delicious caramel candy, I could eat myself sick! It's also great on pop corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I didn't know caramel candies could be so easy! Much easier than other recipes-- and more successful too! I didn't have whole milk so I tried 1% instead. They still turned out wonderful! Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were delicious - perfect. They tasted just like my grandmas recipe!! I poured mine out onto a cookie sheet with a lip on all sides to cut flat, square shaped caramels. Like others have said - take it off the heat at 240! They are perfect then. Make sure you recruit someone to help you wrap these up - that part took forever!! We used red colored saran wrap and placed them on a green tray, very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
These Caramels are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
Great flavor, very sweet! A few notes: Cook to a temperature of about 240 for a chewy caramel; make sure NOT to use a non-stick saucepan; also make sure to grease the pan--cooking spray works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
Wonderful! I made these for Christmas and got rave reviews. I cooked the mixture to about 238 deg. and it's chewy, but doesn't get stuck in your teeth. It's a little hard to remove from the pan.... make sure you coat the pan well w/ butter or spray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missouri City, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2004
Just exellent. I like to do it with just a touch of almond extract and it teast delicious. Well, the candies are a little dificult to estorage, but I strongly recomend any one to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapote, San Jose , Costa Rica
Living In: La Aurora, Heredia, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is an absolutely deliscious caramel. I have given it to about 10 friends already and they ask for more. If you want THE best flavor out of them add a cap each of coconut and orange flavoring. I'm making them right now. Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
YUM! Super easy. I don't own a candy thermometer (yet!) and just waited for the soft ball stage. I didn't wait quite long enough, so my carmels are pretty droopy. But they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States