Caramel Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This was my first time making caramel, and the results were outstanding! I used 1 tsp vanilla extract and 1 tsp french vanilla extract, most because I really like the french vanilla flavor. I cooked the caramel to 240. Be sure to line your dish with parchment paper - the block of caramel will lift out without any problem. The caramel is chewy (but not sticky) and can be easily cut with a sharp hot knife. I can't wait to experiment with flavors and add-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It don't say if your suppose to stir this or not? I know with peanut brittle your suppose to but not with English Toffie. Can someone tell me?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
These Caramels are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I have to agree with all other comments about heating to 240 degrees. This is the most buttery delicious caramel candy, I could eat myself sick! It's also great on pop corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were delicious - perfect. They tasted just like my grandmas recipe!! I poured mine out onto a cookie sheet with a lip on all sides to cut flat, square shaped caramels. Like others have said - take it off the heat at 240! They are perfect then. Make sure you recruit someone to help you wrap these up - that part took forever!! We used red colored saran wrap and placed them on a green tray, very cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ackley, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
YUM! Super easy. I don't own a candy thermometer (yet!) and just waited for the soft ball stage. I didn't wait quite long enough, so my carmels are pretty droopy. But they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I didn't know caramel candies could be so easy! Much easier than other recipes-- and more successful too! I didn't have whole milk so I tried 1% instead. They still turned out wonderful! Thanks for an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is an absolutely deliscious caramel. I have given it to about 10 friends already and they ask for more. If you want THE best flavor out of them add a cap each of coconut and orange flavoring. I'm making them right now. Sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
These are decadent! I had some issues with my candy thermometer, but I cooked it to about 250. I poured the mixture into a greased 8x8 pan. If I do it again, I will definitely line the pan with parchment or teflon coated foil. Once the squares were cut, I stuck them in the fridge for a few minutes, then wrapped them in 3" squares of waxed paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
After reading everyones reviews, I cooked only till 238 degrees and lined my pan with parchment paper and greased the paper well..had no problem lifting out the entire square (leave an overhang of parchment paper so this can be done with ease), peeling off the paper and cutting the squares with a greased knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Amish Friend’s Caramel Corn

See how to make a top-rated caramel corn recipe.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States