Caramel Cake with Caramel Nut Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
a little heavy, but pretty decent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very disappointed in this cake. It did not taste like a caramel cake. It didn't have a bad taste to it, we could eat it, but it wasn't great. The cake had a very odd consistency to. I won't make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
5 stars for the cake! Wonderful crumb! Follow directions and measurements exactly.The cake was fine textured light and delicate. I used the caramel frosting V for the icing as I had all those ingredients. Came out fantastic. County or state fair blue ribbon entry for sure. Special birthday cake or special occasion cake. Really really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This cake was good but a little dry. The caramel frosting took about 1 1/2 hours to bring to the soft boil stage. I've done several soft boil stage frostings and this one took a lot longer. Maybe because of the milk that was added instead of water. I beat the heck out of the frosting and put it into the fridge before I frosted the cake. A bit time consuming, but my family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Okay. I've had better. I did add a box of instant butterscotch pudding mix to the cake batter to help moisten it. It is a cooking tip that a friend gave me some time ago and it works everytime. The frosting is delicious. I did leave out the nuts since my family doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
My best friend asked for a Caramel Cake for her birthday. Out of the 7 recipes I found, I decided to make this one. I found the frosting hard. I had to make it twice (I didn't cook it enough first time) BUT it was well worth the effort. My friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
like real good.... but it was sorta hard to get the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is very tasty. The best food for people that just love caramel. It took hard work but was very worth it in the end. The only thing I suggest is to had 2 more pinches of salt. It really makes a difference. Overall this was a pretty good cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great recipe although I didn't have time to let the frosting reach soft ball stage so I ended up serving it as a glaze. And as for the walnuts, I finely ground and sprinkled them on top decorating with a few walnut halves. Very tasty though, my family loved it =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
The cake was good but the caramel icing was way too sweet and rich (richer than buttercream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States