Caramel Cake with Caramel Nut Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
a little heavy, but pretty decent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Very disappointed in this cake. It did not taste like a caramel cake. It didn't have a bad taste to it, we could eat it, but it wasn't great. The cake had a very odd consistency to. I won't make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
5 stars for the cake! Wonderful crumb! Follow directions and measurements exactly.The cake was fine textured light and delicate. I used the caramel frosting V for the icing as I had all those ingredients. Came out fantastic. County or state fair blue ribbon entry for sure. Special birthday cake or special occasion cake. Really really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
This cake was good but a little dry. The caramel frosting took about 1 1/2 hours to bring to the soft boil stage. I've done several soft boil stage frostings and this one took a lot longer. Maybe because of the milk that was added instead of water. I beat the heck out of the frosting and put it into the fridge before I frosted the cake. A bit time consuming, but my family really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Okay. I've had better. I did add a box of instant butterscotch pudding mix to the cake batter to help moisten it. It is a cooking tip that a friend gave me some time ago and it works everytime. The frosting is delicious. I did leave out the nuts since my family doesn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
My best friend asked for a Caramel Cake for her birthday. Out of the 7 recipes I found, I decided to make this one. I found the frosting hard. I had to make it twice (I didn't cook it enough first time) BUT it was well worth the effort. My friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
like real good.... but it was sorta hard to get the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
This is very tasty. The best food for people that just love caramel. It took hard work but was very worth it in the end. The only thing I suggest is to had 2 more pinches of salt. It really makes a difference. Overall this was a pretty good cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Great recipe although I didn't have time to let the frosting reach soft ball stage so I ended up serving it as a glaze. And as for the walnuts, I finely ground and sprinkled them on top decorating with a few walnut halves. Very tasty though, my family loved it =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
The cake was good but the caramel icing was way too sweet and rich (richer than buttercream).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States