Caramel Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have only had the cake part of this recipe, and it was an instant hit. I found this recipe looking for a good base for a caramel cake, made with liquid caramel syrup poured on when it was warm. Since I also wanted a bit of a nutty taste, I added 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract to the batter. The cake is dense, and makes a very thin layer of cake, which is perfect for pouring on caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This cake was very dry and did not have much flavor. I increased the serving size to 36 and made a 3 layer. I only used 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and it probably would have tasted better if I had increased to 2. I used evaporated milk in the place of the heavy whipping cream and 1/2 pound of butter for the icing. The color was a little lighter than I wanted, but the icing was good. My grandmother was a great baker and this was her specialty. Her receipe for icing was different, as she used the candied version and whipped all the lumps out by hand. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Made this into cupcakes with marshmallow frosting! Excellent! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvyash91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
After reading the reviews, I also increased milk, and I upped the servings to make a thicker cake (in a 9x13). I also baked at 325 and just watched it til it was ready. I was so worried about it being dry, but by making these changes, this cake turned out EXTREMELY moist. Also, I used half vanilla extract and half almond extract in the cake batter because I love that almond flavor. I have never made anything with real caramel before, and I didn't realize how long the heating and cooling process actually takes! I was worried that thermometer was never going to go from 220-238, but it did! It is well worth the wait, because this cake is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is a good recipe. My caramel cake turned out great! (i left out the pecans)? I made a two layered round cake....(doubled the ingredients). The guys in the barracks loved it! They've been asking my husband to ask me to make another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was 1 of the BEST recipes i've ever used for baking from scratch. The cake itself was good & I hadn't even frosted yet-i think thats because this recipe uses brown sugar-vs-white sgr. Altho the recipe calls for only vanilla extract, i use 1/2 pure almond & 1/2 vanilla-(good flavor combo). I used Cake Flour, i think thats why it was so moist. but, i shouldnt have sifted the flour becuz it is already presifted. I only use cake flour when i bake from scratch. it was so moist, it fell apart when i tried to get it out of the dish. I wont sift it next time. i had 2 start over, but used reg flour (i didnt hv enough cake flour left after the 1st try), which made the cake heavy & dry. baked it in a 9x13 glass dish, browned beautifully. it rose nicely w/the cake flour - was really flat & dense w/the regular flour. i, too, followed the directions for the frosting to the "tee", but it never got thick. I beat it for at least 5 min straight. so i drizzled it over the cake. i think i'll do what Paula "D" did w/her caramel frosting - add a little powered sugar to help thicken; well she added a lot, but thats 2 sweet 4 me. its a wonderful caramel sauce. i'll continue to use it as sauce or poke holes in my cake & drizzle that way. i refrigerated the caramel sauce & warmed it to drizzle over my crumbled cake that fell apart. it bounced bk to silkiness every time. Also, i salvaged & froze my first cake that fell apart, it warms very well out of the freezer-warm on defrost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Not the best cake at all! The cake was bland and icing was good, but have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I just made this cake and it is soooooooooo good! The cake is moist & has flavor. I increased the recipe to 36 servings to make a 2 layer 9 in. cake. The icing took some time & attention, but was well worth it. I wanted to eat it straight out of the pan=) I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Recipe does not yield a normal size 2 layer cake. The batter is really thick and the cook time is less than 30 minutes. Tasted okay but not a good recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Cooked the cake for 20min like many suggested. It turned out wonderful and moist. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States