Caramel Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Made this cake for a friends' birthday and it came out absolutely amazing. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Endecott

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I have only had the cake part of this recipe, and it was an instant hit. I found this recipe looking for a good base for a caramel cake, made with liquid caramel syrup poured on when it was warm. Since I also wanted a bit of a nutty taste, I added 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract to the batter. The cake is dense, and makes a very thin layer of cake, which is perfect for pouring on caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This cake was very dry and did not have much flavor. I increased the serving size to 36 and made a 3 layer. I only used 1 tsp of vanilla extract, and it probably would have tasted better if I had increased to 2. I used evaporated milk in the place of the heavy whipping cream and 1/2 pound of butter for the icing. The color was a little lighter than I wanted, but the icing was good. My grandmother was a great baker and this was her specialty. Her receipe for icing was different, as she used the candied version and whipped all the lumps out by hand. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Made this into cupcakes with marshmallow frosting! Excellent! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by savvyash91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
After reading the reviews, I also increased milk, and I upped the servings to make a thicker cake (in a 9x13). I also baked at 325 and just watched it til it was ready. I was so worried about it being dry, but by making these changes, this cake turned out EXTREMELY moist. Also, I used half vanilla extract and half almond extract in the cake batter because I love that almond flavor. I have never made anything with real caramel before, and I didn't realize how long the heating and cooling process actually takes! I was worried that thermometer was never going to go from 220-238, but it did! It is well worth the wait, because this cake is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is a good recipe. My caramel cake turned out great! (i left out the pecans)? I made a two layered round cake....(doubled the ingredients). The guys in the barracks loved it! They've been asking my husband to ask me to make another one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was 1 of the BEST recipes i've ever used for baking from scratch. The cake itself was good & I hadn't even frosted yet-i think thats because this recipe uses brown sugar-vs-white sgr. Altho the recipe calls for only vanilla extract, i use 1/2 pure almond & 1/2 vanilla-(good flavor combo). I used Cake Flour, i think thats why it was so moist. but, i shouldnt have sifted the flour becuz it is already presifted. I only use cake flour when i bake from scratch. it was so moist, it fell apart when i tried to get it out of the dish. I wont sift it next time. i had 2 start over, but used reg flour (i didnt hv enough cake flour left after the 1st try), which made the cake heavy & dry. baked it in a 9x13 glass dish, browned beautifully. it rose nicely w/the cake flour - was really flat & dense w/the regular flour. i, too, followed the directions for the frosting to the "tee", but it never got thick. I beat it for at least 5 min straight. so i drizzled it over the cake. i think i'll do what Paula "D" did w/her caramel frosting - add a little powered sugar to help thicken; well she added a lot, but thats 2 sweet 4 me. its a wonderful caramel sauce. i'll continue to use it as sauce or poke holes in my cake & drizzle that way. i refrigerated the caramel sauce & warmed it to drizzle over my crumbled cake that fell apart. it bounced bk to silkiness every time. Also, i salvaged & froze my first cake that fell apart, it warms very well out of the freezer-warm on defrost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Not the best cake at all! The cake was bland and icing was good, but have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I just made this cake and it is soooooooooo good! The cake is moist & has flavor. I increased the recipe to 36 servings to make a 2 layer 9 in. cake. The icing took some time & attention, but was well worth it. I wanted to eat it straight out of the pan=) I will be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Recipe does not yield a normal size 2 layer cake. The batter is really thick and the cook time is less than 30 minutes. Tasted okay but not a good recipe to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrondaT
Home Town: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States