Caramel Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Based solely on the rave reviews from my coworkers, this easily earned it's 5 stars! With how easy it was to pull this together at 9pm on a work-night AND have it be delicious, I give it 5 stars. It's incredibly rich, reminds me of a candy bar, and you really only need a small piece to be satisfied...but it's so good, you'll keep going back for more! I happened to have homemade caramel sauce in the fridge so that's what I used. Also, I used semi-sweet chips since that's also what I had on hand, but I think I might actually prefer milk chocolate for these...semisweet is a fine replacement though. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I used semi sweet chips and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I liked the cookie part, the nuts and the chocolate. The caramel part was way too sweet. What would be good would be to make this a salted caramel bar.. add some kosher salt when the caramel is poured on.. one of these times I'll try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this tonight, but I only made half the recipe, I used home-made chocolate for the topping...Awesome and very easy....ty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These were delicous and easy...to make. To cut is another story. I lined my pan with foil and let the bars set overnight. When I went to cut them in the morning, the chocolate and carmel made them quite gooey. Delicous to eat, difficult to present. I would recommend refrigeration for at least an hour before they're cut. I will make them again for sure since they were so easy and tasted great. Lesson learned on the cutting stage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Fabulous bar recipe! The only thing I had to do a bit differently was use Smuckers butterscotch topping because the store was out of the caramel one. I did have a bit of the caramel one at home so I taste-tested the two together and there wasn't a huge difference between the two. The only tip I might suggest is that if you, like me, get annoyed by cutting in butter, I have another bar recipe where the crust is exactly like this one, same ingredients, same taste, and the directions call for mixing it in with a hand mixer instead of cutting in, and it ends up nice and crumbly, perfect for pressing into a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Over rated. Not at all flavorful. Maybe its the caramel, maybe it'd be better with semi-sweet chips. Blah flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These things are SIN-FULL!! Wow what a wonderful rich treat. I used Hershey's Caramel Syrup, baked it until it bubbled & texture/ consistency was perfect! Ate too many of these in too short a time, but they are superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
WAY too sweet for us. also really messy. like a previous reviewer, i wanted to cut them in smaller squares, but couldn't because of the crumbly crust and oozy caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Just okay. The crust was too crumbly and not enough caramel for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Herrin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States