Caramel Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Based solely on the rave reviews from my coworkers, this easily earned it's 5 stars! With how easy it was to pull this together at 9pm on a work-night AND have it be delicious, I give it 5 stars. It's incredibly rich, reminds me of a candy bar, and you really only need a small piece to be satisfied...but it's so good, you'll keep going back for more! I happened to have homemade caramel sauce in the fridge so that's what I used. Also, I used semi-sweet chips since that's also what I had on hand, but I think I might actually prefer milk chocolate for these...semisweet is a fine replacement though. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
I used semi sweet chips and it was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Grove, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
I liked the cookie part, the nuts and the chocolate. The caramel part was way too sweet. What would be good would be to make this a salted caramel bar.. add some kosher salt when the caramel is poured on.. one of these times I'll try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I made this tonight, but I only made half the recipe, I used home-made chocolate for the topping...Awesome and very easy....ty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These were delicous and easy...to make. To cut is another story. I lined my pan with foil and let the bars set overnight. When I went to cut them in the morning, the chocolate and carmel made them quite gooey. Delicous to eat, difficult to present. I would recommend refrigeration for at least an hour before they're cut. I will make them again for sure since they were so easy and tasted great. Lesson learned on the cutting stage though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Fabulous bar recipe! The only thing I had to do a bit differently was use Smuckers butterscotch topping because the store was out of the caramel one. I did have a bit of the caramel one at home so I taste-tested the two together and there wasn't a huge difference between the two. The only tip I might suggest is that if you, like me, get annoyed by cutting in butter, I have another bar recipe where the crust is exactly like this one, same ingredients, same taste, and the directions call for mixing it in with a hand mixer instead of cutting in, and it ends up nice and crumbly, perfect for pressing into a pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Over rated. Not at all flavorful. Maybe its the caramel, maybe it'd be better with semi-sweet chips. Blah flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLEESMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These things are SIN-FULL!! Wow what a wonderful rich treat. I used Hershey's Caramel Syrup, baked it until it bubbled & texture/ consistency was perfect! Ate too many of these in too short a time, but they are superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
WAY too sweet for us. also really messy. like a previous reviewer, i wanted to cut them in smaller squares, but couldn't because of the crumbly crust and oozy caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Just okay. The crust was too crumbly and not enough caramel for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Herrin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States