Caramel Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good, very rich, very simple to make. I did need to let mine bake a bit longer to get the caramel get bubbly. I probably should have given it another 5 minutes as it was still a little gooey, but the edges probably would have been overdone at that point. These were a hit - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Wow...these are super good! And, they couldn't be easier! I was a little worried because my caramel was really runny after baking, topping with the chocolate chips and letting them set for a few hours. But, I let them set over night and they turned out perfect. They were still gooey, but I was able to cut them into squares and they stayed intact. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Oh. My. Word. Only one reviewer as I write this? One?! And that was more than three years ago? Do you know what we've all been missing? Where has this recipe been all my life? So easy, but never mind that. These are so "D" good you can't stop with just "the taste" you told yourself you would. Decadent. Buttery, chocolatey, caramely, gooey, rich, sinful, and pretty. A few minutes, a few simple ingredients most cooks have on hand and you've got something that's going to make you a star. I've got no tips (except to line your pan with foil), no changes, and no hints - except to make these. Now. You'll be in "turtle" heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Easy and Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and made it in an 8x8 pan and they turned out great! I thought they would have been really sweet with all that ice cream topping, but they weren't at all. Caramel and chocolate, slightly chewy, with a little crunch - yum!! Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I've made this bars twice in the last two weeks and eveybody that tries them loves them! Sooo good and easy to put together with ingridients that I always have in my kitchen. Thanks Peggy for sharing your delicious reipe. Elvira Silva, Phoenix Az.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Visions of pecan pie swirled through my head when I tasted these. Easy to make. When I was baking I thought they looked done and remembered it said the caramel should bubble. So I baked a little longer. Let it sit overnight. I had foiled the pan with a doubled strip of foil going the other way so I could lift the whole thing out. Cut with a pizza cutter. Works great! While still gooey, no oozing anywhere. Thanks for a good recipe Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yum! Made this for the Recipe Group. I loved these. So did my hubby and oldest son. My other 2 kids didn't like it and thought they were to sweet. But I'm still giving it 5 stars. I mixed the dough part up in my food processor since I'm lazy that way. The cooling time on these is really just torture. I'm the kind that wants to taste it right away. I didn't pay attention to the type of choco chips used and used semi-sweet. Oops. Still yummy. I used Smuckers caramel. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Oh...My...Gosh! These bars are so easy and so good! They just melt away in your mouth and are just heavenly! I did refrigerate my bars for 2-3 hours instead of waiting 6 hours for them to cool and my caramel was still a bit gooey when I cut into them. I lined my pan with foil and then greased it - this made it extremely easy to get out of the pan and cut too. I used my own homemade caramel sauce and I have them stored in an airtight container in the fridge. They just keep calling me back for more. Love this recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Awesome and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
The most helpful advice is the aluminum foil in the pan. Definitely go with that. I left them on the counter for about 6 hours then refrigerated overnight. Easy to take out of the pan on the foil and cut. DO cut into bite size squares. These are SWEET, Magic Bar-ish. I used semi-sweet choc chips and glad I did. Milk Choc would have been over the top sweetness. They were refrigerated and I brought them to work at 8 am. By 2pm the caramel at room temp was oozing out and it became kind of messy.. and I had them cut in complete squares. If you're going to take them somewhere, make sure they're cold and will get eaten rather quickly. It made about 20 bite sized squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States