Caramel Butter Pecan Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
Easy and Delicious! I cut the recipe in half and made it in an 8x8 pan and they turned out great! I thought they would have been really sweet with all that ice cream topping, but they weren't at all. Caramel and chocolate, slightly chewy, with a little crunch - yum!! Will def. make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Oh. My. Word. Only one reviewer as I write this? One?! And that was more than three years ago? Do you know what we've all been missing? Where has this recipe been all my life? So easy, but never mind that. These are so "D" good you can't stop with just "the taste" you told yourself you would. Decadent. Buttery, chocolatey, caramely, gooey, rich, sinful, and pretty. A few minutes, a few simple ingredients most cooks have on hand and you've got something that's going to make you a star. I've got no tips (except to line your pan with foil), no changes, and no hints - except to make these. Now. You'll be in "turtle" heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Great flavor-very rich but mine are still a little gooey the next day. I was expecting to be able to cut into candy size squares but they're too messy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very good and easy. I served these with a small scoop of vanilla bean ice cream. Be sure to make a sling of aluminum foil to fit in the pan before filling . . . as one reviewer mentioned. This is good advice for all bar type desserts, like brownies and the like. After it has cooled and firmed up, the entire dessert can be lifted out and cut easily. Also, after you sprinkle the chips over the hot filling, put a piece of foil loosley over the top, it will help the chips to melt quickly and evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KerryElizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I was really worried I was missing something while making this - but in the end they turned out just fine. I made mine with white chocolate chips, since I cannot eat regular chocolate - and it was nice - enjoyed by all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I thought these were absolutely delicious. It was very easy to prepare and quick to make. Six hours cooling time was a little hard to take because they looked so good,but with some patience, the finished product was definitely worth the wait.Thank You for sharing such a YUMMY and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Buzz Group Recipe for the week of December 6th. Wow, really mixed reactions on this from us. For taste I give this a 1 -- it's inedible to me. My husband gives it a 5 though! This is too sweet for me, on every layer except the chocolate layer, where I had to use semisweet chips because I was out of milk chocolate. I wish I knew what brand of caramel topping to use because I used Hershey's (the kind in a jar that you have to refrigerate after opening) because mine didn't even set up right in the refrigerator. I was able to cut them, but they're going to be a terrible mess in gift boxes so I guess I'll have to serve them in candy liners. These were very easy to make; if I were to make this again (which I won't) I think I'd make my own caramel, reduce the brown sugar to 3/4 cup, and add some salt to the crust layer. Also, due to the gooey-ness of the caramel, I was unable to cut the pieces small enough to get 48 servings; I got 24. For all that though, my husband does like them, so this receives a neutral rating of 3 stars from us. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I've made this bars twice in the last two weeks and eveybody that tries them loves them! Sooo good and easy to put together with ingridients that I always have in my kitchen. Thanks Peggy for sharing your delicious reipe. Elvira Silva, Phoenix Az.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Visions of pecan pie swirled through my head when I tasted these. Easy to make. When I was baking I thought they looked done and remembered it said the caramel should bubble. So I baked a little longer. Let it sit overnight. I had foiled the pan with a doubled strip of foil going the other way so I could lift the whole thing out. Cut with a pizza cutter. Works great! While still gooey, no oozing anywhere. Thanks for a good recipe Peggy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Yum! Made this for the Recipe Group. I loved these. So did my hubby and oldest son. My other 2 kids didn't like it and thought they were to sweet. But I'm still giving it 5 stars. I mixed the dough part up in my food processor since I'm lazy that way. The cooling time on these is really just torture. I'm the kind that wants to taste it right away. I didn't pay attention to the type of choco chips used and used semi-sweet. Oops. Still yummy. I used Smuckers caramel. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States