Caramel Brownies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I've made this several times now and it's quite the hit with my co-workers. I couldn't find german chocolate cake mix, and use Devil's Food instead. The brand does seem to make a difference. I used a store/no name type brand once and it wasn't as good as when I made it with Duncan Hines or Betty Crocker mixes. Didn't have a measuring scale for the individual caramels, counted out 40 individual squares instead. Omitted the nuts as there are some people with allergies and lastly completely forgot about the chocolate chips! LOL. Still excellent without the extra chocolate chips. It is very rich. And I like that they're easy to handle as squares, makes this excellent for packed lunches and picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
These have been a holiday traditon at my house. They are the best! You really must give them a try. It isn't Christmas at my home without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
These brownies are amazing! Super easy to make and they have just the perfect amount of caramel, nuts and chocolate chips... They are super rich though! Next time I'm going to try making them with only 1/2 cup of butter and maybe add a little bit more condensed milk....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
My family has been making these since before I was born. The only difference is we just use regular milk with our caramels. They are always fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
These brownies are the best, especially when you consider it is just a cake mix. I have been making them for years and the original recipe that I had said not to use a cake mix that has pudding in the mix, so that is what I have always done. I use only 1/2 cup of butter and add the nuts to the top. I have tried to hide these from myself by putting them in the freezer, only to dicover they are really really good that way. Cut these small because they are super rich and super sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
OMG! These are so amazing! It actually didn't take me as long as some other people to melt the caramel. But I did use a large pan which distributes the heat over a larger area so maybe that's why it melted faster. I brought them to work and everybody said they were KILLER delicious!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Amazing. I cannot believe how tasty these gooey and nutty brownies turned out. I love it! Rather simple recipe that anyone can make. Patience is key when melting the caramel...it took 15-20 minutes over very low heat, as I didn't want to risk ruining it. A big hit with the coworkers--I didn't, and wouldn't, change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I took these to school for a teacher treat day and they were gobbled up. The recipe was requested by many. I did have to cook them longer than receipe stated. Very delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
I read this recipe, and was excited to try them. Sorry, but I didn't like the taste and I didn't like the texture. My brownie loving gang didn't like them. The idea was good, but taste-no.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
I didn't change a single thing about this recipe. It was fabulous!!! When I was making it, I thought there was no way the small amount of batter was going to fill up the 11x8 pan I used, it just didn't seem like there was anything there but the batter spreads out quite nicely and next time I'll probably use the larger pan to be on the safe side and prevent a possible mess. Best brownies I've ever eaten. Very similar to TGIF's brownie obsession dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States