Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These are REALLY good. I made them exactly as called for in the recipe only baked them in a 9x9" pan. Cooled them, as suggested, and took them out of the pan to cut into bars. I will definitely make them again. Yum! BTW, my husband is still raving about these bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
It tasted okay but I would advise adding NO chocolate whatsoever to keep them tasting like caramel. The chocolate sort of dissolved into my caramel layer and didn't taste that great and a bit too sweet. Also, double the rest of the ingredients (other than the caramels and cream), otherwise you will end up with very flat bars (mine were less than a centimeter thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made these for a friends birthday and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Followed this to the letter and served it to a slew of high schoolers. They all loved them. NOTE: the dough doesn't look like it's nearly enough to cover the pan but be patient. It will cover it! Oh, and I did spray the pan with PAM before assembling them. It didn't say to but I thought I should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I made these for a banquet and it was a HUGE hit they were absolutely delicious! I used white chocolate chips as well.. this willdefinitely be made again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Delicious!! I used parchment paper so they wouldn't stick to the pan. I also doubled the flour/oats mixture as suggested by other reviews and I'm glad I did. I only had 1 c of oats so I just doubled the flour and added a little more butter. I also only had whole milk instead of heavy cream, but I just used about 3 tablespoons instead. I made the recipe on a whim knowing I was making several modifications and they turned out AMAZING! My husband can't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Great recipe but really it only makes a 8x8/9x9 pan. I substituted a half cup of Smucker's caramel ice cream topping for the individually wrapped caramels. This was much easier and already in liquid form. Also added a half cup of shredded coconut for another twist. Overall, a great recipe to take as is or tweak a little to make your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I've made the Kraft Caramel Bars version of this recipe on Cooks.com for 5 years and just tried this last night. Instead of doubling the crust mixture, try dividing the crust mixture into quarters and press 3/4 in a 9x13 pan. Bake for 10 minutes in 350 degree oven. Pour caramel mixture over baked crust then sprinkle 1 cup chocolate chips and 1 cup chopped walnuts (not 1/2). Then sprinkle the remaining 1/4 of crust mixture and gently press into caramel. Bake for 15 minutes. Perfection! Everyone loves these exactly as I have made them. I get tons of requests to make these around the holidays (saving it just makes them more special).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
These were okay. For sure double the flour/oat mixture, maybe even triple it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 436) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States