Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I knew before these were even done that it would be one of my more successful recipes. They came together beautifully, smelled heavenly when baking, and were completely obliterated by the recipients. I followed the tips to double the cookie part but use the same amount of filling. I lightly pressed the top layer into the caramel before baking, just so they wouldn't get crumbly. Finally, I let them rest overnight before cutting with a pizza wheel, and they were perfect. I am not always good about remembering to purchase eggs, so I will probably be calling on this recipe a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Very simple to make and tasty. Had to cut my 4 year old off after he scarfed down two pieces. Next time I think I will try to find unwrapped caramels though because unwrapping 32 of them is not much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Since making these yesterday, I've been fighting the urge to devour all of them. This is a fabulous, chewy cookie bar that makes me so, so happy. The only change I made to the recipe was to use Almond milk in place of the heavy cream. I will definitely be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
These turned out great! I followed the advice of other reviewers, doubled the oatmeal mixture and added 1 cup of butter to it. I used 50 caramels to 7 T of heavy cream. Baked in 9x13.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I thought these cookies were just ok. I made more crumble for the top but they still fell flat. Not sure what would make them better, it seemed like they should have been good. Maybe some vanilla or cinnamon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Really good! But, following the advice of others, I used an 8x8 pan, and only half a cup of butter. Press the top layer gently in. Next time I will use mini chips, because the whole ones are a bit chunky in the bar. Definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
These are REALLY good. I made them exactly as called for in the recipe only baked them in a 9x9" pan. Cooled them, as suggested, and took them out of the pan to cut into bars. I will definitely make them again. Yum! BTW, my husband is still raving about these bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Hayden, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
It tasted okay but I would advise adding NO chocolate whatsoever to keep them tasting like caramel. The chocolate sort of dissolved into my caramel layer and didn't taste that great and a bit too sweet. Also, double the rest of the ingredients (other than the caramels and cream), otherwise you will end up with very flat bars (mine were less than a centimeter thick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Made these for a friends birthday and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Followed this to the letter and served it to a slew of high schoolers. They all loved them. NOTE: the dough doesn't look like it's nearly enough to cover the pan but be patient. It will cover it! Oh, and I did spray the pan with PAM before assembling them. It didn't say to but I thought I should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 442) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States