Caramel Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I had my 10 year old open all the caramels while he was watching t.v. so that was no sweat for me. The result is fantastic. I gave one to my 18 year old who is somewhat picky on desserts and he said "this is the best thing in the world". That has to be worthy of 5 stars! They were gone by the following day. Update: I had to come back on and update this review. I've made these many times now and even packaged them up and mailed them to my son in college. They were still moist and fresh when he received them 2 days later. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
I'd like to try this recipe, but there's no way I'm unwrapping all those caramels, jeez what a drag. If you have to buy heavy cream anyway, and dirty a pan to do the caramel part anyway, why not make the caramel from scratch? It'd be so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Jordanna thank you!! I was recently at a Christmas party where these squares were served and I rushed home to find the recipe on allrecipes.com and there they are as big as life. I do believe these may very well be the best thing I have eaten in the sweets dept in a very long time. I have however made 1 major change. I put them in a 8x8 pan. They turned out terrible in the 9x13 and absolutely perfect in the 8x8. They are thicker googey and cooked to perfection. One other change I made was to put pecan pieces instead of walnuts as they are as soft chewy nut like the squares. It is great that these are so fast and simple to make and so yummy. Your cooking times and ingredients are exact for an 8x8. I am so very happy to have this recipe Jordanna, nice of you to share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Glasgow, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
This recipe earned 5 stars for taste and appearance but there is no way it will fit in a 9x13 pan unless the dough ingredients are doubled. I made this recipe in a 11x7 brownie pan and the thickness was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
These are fabulous! Like others have said - use a smaller pan. I made them with cashews (instead of walnuts) and peanut butter chips (instead of chocolate). I like the idea of making the dough with more flour (or less butter) to make it less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
I saw this recipe at 5 p.m. and had it made by 6 p.m. Served it for dessert at 6:30 and my husband said to give it 5 and 1/2 stars! We really enjoyed this bar. I made it in an 11 X 7 and reduced the butter to 1/2 C. It was still rich and gooey, but not too greasy. Thanks, Jordanna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Loved the taste! I will use less butter next time, like the other reviews. Also, the smaller pan worked well. Thanks for the good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2005
Can I give these more than 5 stars? I have already made these 3 times. I have to make double batches because they don't last long!!! I love Turtle Sundaes, so instead of walnuts, I added pecans. These are SO good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Excellent! Got rave reviews at our potluck picnic. Used milk, not cream, and tasted great. Also subbed pecans for walnuts and think I will keep it that way (tho you could probably use about any nut). I wasn't sure if it would actually cover the bottom of the pan, but JUST made it. For thicker bottom/more topping, you may want to use a smaller pan. Everybody LOVED this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
Everyone I have made this for loves it. It is so yummy. I have requests for it everytime I am invited to a dinner party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANA129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawthorne, New York, USA
Living In: Newport Coast, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States